Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

My suffering left me sad and gloomy.

Today’s post is inspired by The Daily Post at WordPress.com

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

This was harder than I thought.  The hard part being that I find it impossible now to choose a favorite book.  Every year I read, I find I have a few “new” favorite books.  So I chose ONE of my favorite books.

The above quote is from The Life of Pi by Yann Martel

life-of-pi

I became interested in reading this book seven years ago when I was at a Barnes and Noble with my oldest son and his high school summer reading list.  I showed the list to an employee who I had come to know as an avid reader, and she highly recommended this book.  She went on and on about it.  I knew I had to get it, and I did.  I was in a book club a couple of years later, and this was one of the books we chose.  We weren’t disappointed!  And now of course, the movie’s been out (I went just yesterday and saw it a second time– this time in 3-D).  I loved the movie as well.

Life of Pi is about an Indian boy, Pi Patel, who is the son of a zookeeper.  Pi practices not only his native Hinduism, but also Christianity and Islam.  Interesting, huh?  His family, which includes a mother, father, and older brother,  leaves India and boards a Japanese cargo ship (animals too) to move to North America, when the ship sinks in a storm.

Pi soon finds himself a survivor in a small lifeboat.  Also, in the lifeboat are a wounded Zebra, a hyena, an orangutan, and a not-so-nice Bengal tiger named Richard Parker.

Sounds crazy, huh?  That’s what I thought too, but I couldn’t put this book down.  After reading the book, and now looking back at the first sentence, it seems an understatement.  If you read the book, you’ll understand why.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Call Me Ishmael

  1. jwdwrites says:

    Hi Gail, well you have got me curious now! I was resisting this book if only because of the attention it has been getting. Stupid huh? I must admit having a little background on it makes it sound worth a read, thanks.

    • Gail says:

      No, not stupid at all! I do that too and that’s why I haven’t read The Hunger Game books or any of the Twilight books (just don’t think I can get that into Vampires)! If it’s any consolation, my husband didn’t think he would like Life of Pi, but he ended up really liking it. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. seeker says:

    A lot of people really enjoyed reading this book. I can’t seem to get into yet. Maybe one day, I’ll pick it up. Or better yet, just watch the movie.

Leave a Reply

