Daily Prompt: My Favorite

Today’s post is inspired by The Daily Post at WordPress.com

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

The first thing I thought of when I read this question was that I’m not really sure I can say I have one favorite person, just like I can’t really say I have a favorite book.

I would say my husband and parents are the people I thought of first.  The longest I’ve been away from my hubby of 27 years has been about 3 days.  A few years ago I took a trip to Illinois with my two sisters for a few days.  Though I missed him (and I think he missed me too!), it did us both good to be away from each other.  I think it’s good and important for spouses to be apart from each other sometimes.  It makes you appreciate one another a little more.

As far as my parents,  I was thinking about this just the other day (how long I have been away from them).  My father passed away in 1994, so it’s been almost 19 years (YIKES) since I’ve had him in my life.  It still seems hard to believe and I still miss him like crazy.  The 6th anniversary of my mother’s death was just this past December 7th (also hard to believe she’s been gone that long).  The holidays have never been quite the same and one thing’s for sure: you never stop missing your parents when they’re gone.

My mom and dad at my wedding- 1985

My mom and dad at my wedding- 1985

Gail ♥

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: My Favorite

  1. My Mushy Brain says:

    Hugs. It has been 13 years that I lost my daddy and 2 years for mother.

  2. seeker says:

    We will never really get over missing our parents. In 2000 I can say that I am an orphan.

  3. I was so sad for you when I read this, Gail. Even 19 years can feel like yesterday.
    *sending hugs*

Leave a Reply

