Daily Prompt: The Clock

MH900401900

Today’s daily prompt:  Write about anything you’d like. Somewhere in your post, include the sentence, “I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.”

Last fall we had our bedroom painted and a friend had come over and spent a late evening doing some “touch-up” painting.”  We had put in a long night and I was exhausted.  The paint fumes were still strong and I decided to sleep in my oldest son’s room (he is away at college and wouldn’t be needing the bed anyway).  It was a nice fall evening and I had the windows open to let the fresh air in (and the paint fumes out).  I fell into bed and fell asleep listening to the sound of an owl hooting outside the bedroom window.  I was sort of in that twilight sleep phase– not yet asleep but not really awake when I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock.  Just after 3 am.  I sat straight up in bed.  Who would be here in my driveway at this hour?  Hubby was at work and my heart began pounding.  I heard a loud crash and I jumped out of bed.  I started flipping lights on.  I ran to the den and flipped on the outside lights.  Trembling, I got my nerve up to go to the den window to peer out to see who was in my driveway.  I was terrified I would see a strange car.  I saw something move.  I looked closer.  It was a large black dog and it had pulled our very heavy trash can over into the driveway and was trying hard to get the lid open.  I opened the door to my deck and went outside.  I realized it was an old dog– thin and emaciated and appearing very arthritic.  And very hungry.  I could see the gray hairs mingled with the black.  I whistled and hollered at it.  It didn’t hear me and never turned its head.  It’s probably deaf I thought.  Then, realizing it was not going to get the trash can open, it limped and lumbered slowly away. 

So I had not heard a car door slam after all.  It had been the sound of the trash can slamming down on the driveway.  I walked out on the front porch looking for the dog, who had headed down the driveway towards the street.  I knew it was hungry and needed something to eat.  The dog was nowhere to be found and I never saw it again.  It was as if it had vanished into the dark night.  I felt bad for it. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: The Clock

  1. Amba says:

    I feel so sad for stray dogs. Some of them really deserve so much better, especially the old, sick ones. I must say you are pretty brave to go out and see what all the noise was. I would have sat shivering under the covers! :)

  2. My heart goes out to stray animals…

  3. Pingback: In the afternoon « thelissachronicles

  4. Carol O. says:

    Great story! Well done, though now I feel badly for one more poor little being in the world! Aww.. well, maybe we’ll all be a little more aware of how hungry creatures are when they seem, rather, to be an unwanted nuisance.

  5. Aww…glad it wasn’t anything scarier, but I feel so sad for the dog!

Leave a Reply

