Daily Prompt: Linger

Today’s daily prompt:  Tell us about times in which you linger — when you don’t want an event, or a day to end. What is it you love about these times? Why do you wish you could linger forever?

I love the season of fall.  Always have, always will.  It comes as such a relief as here in the south we have such hot and humid summer days (which seem to be getting only hotter and more humid with each passing summer).  So fall is always such a time of refreshment for me.  It’s a time I can enjoy being outside without the unbearable heat and humidity that leaves me sweating bullets and where the stifling heat leaves me quite frankly feeling like I can’t catch my breath.

I love everything about fall.  I love walking and hiking in the woods and hearing crunching leaves.  I love the colors of the season– the beautiful reds, golds, oranges and browns.  I love the nighttime chill in the air and sleeping with the windows open.  I love the bluer skies.  I love cooking chili and all things pumpkin.  It’s a time for making and eating pumpkin everything…. pumpkin bread loaves and muffins, pumpkin pie, pumpkin pancakes and pumpkin butter.  Fall brings memories of Halloween, my favorite time of the year when I was a child.  Happy childhood memories come flooding back to me every fall.

So yes, I long for fall to linger when it’s here.  For I know that the hot humid summer is gone and the dreaded cold gray winter is upon us.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: Linger

  1. Pingback: Daily prompt: Linger | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Linger | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: LINGER INSIDE ETERNITY | Hastywords

Leave a Reply

