Ten Books I Want to Read Before the End of This Year

I started this blog less than one month ago.  I had a million ideas of things I wanted to write about.  I still do.  But I just can’t get my ideas together and organized to “get them on paper.”  So here I am with a blog less than a month old and a bad case of writer’s block.   While researching blog writing over the last few months, I remember reading that you can never go wrong with writing a post in a list format, because people love to read lists.  And lists are usually easy to write.  I’m not sure if this is true, but I thought I would give it a try.  Then came the decision of what kind of a list to make.  Someone asked me recently if I had ever made out my “bucket list.”  I haven’t.  I have reasons for that….  but maybe that’s a topic for another blog post.  But for now, I thought I would make out a list of books I would like to read before the end of the year.  Yikes!  It’s already September and this year will be over before we know it!  I love to read so to be honest, picking only 10 is a little difficult for me.  I would love to hear your comments, thoughts, and opinions on any of these books if you have read them (or even if you haven’t read them).  Here they are:

  1. Eat Pray Love– by Elizabeth Gilbert.  The book club I am in at my church is getting ready to start this book next week.  I just started reading it and really like it so far!
  2. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society  by Mary Ann Shaffer.  Our book club also chose to read this (after we finish Eat Pray Love).  This book has been recommended to me by several friends.  It seems to be a popular book with many book clubs.  And quite honestly, the title has me curious.
  3. The Help– by  Kathryn Stockett.  Another book our book club has put on its list to read.  I’ve heard good things about it.
  4. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.  While I have seen the movie multiple times, I have never read the book.  My mother always used to say this book was THE BEST book she had ever read in her life…. by far.  And she was a BIG reader.
  5. The Good Earth– by Pearl S. Buck.  My mother gave this book to my oldest son (it was on his school reading list) in 2003.  It was another favorite of hers.
  6. Is it hot in here?  Or is it me?  The Complete Guide to Menopause– by Pat Wingert and Barbar Kantrowitz.  Yes, I bought this book because I loved the title and because I feel like I ask my family this question about a bazillion times a day.  It actually looks like a pretty good book full of helpful information.
  7. The Wisdom of Menopause  by Christiane Northrup, M.D.  This book sparked my interest when I saw the author on Oprah.
  8. The Pillars of the Earth– by Ken Follett.  This book was recommended to me by an employee at Barnes and Noble who told me he thought it was one of the best books in the store!  Now how could I NOT read it after hearing that!!  I have also had a few friends who read it and liked it.  A lot.
  9. Omnivore’s Dilemma– by Michael Pollan.  I actually heard about this book from my son’s chiropractor at a nutrition seminar of his I went to.  Since I have been trying to lose weight and eat healthier, this one really interested me.
  10. The Time Traveler’s Wife– by Audrey Niffenegger.  I actually bought this book months and months ago (like a year or so) to read and haven’t gotten around to it yet.  It’s time.

So that’s the list that I hope to read.  By the end of this year.  In this order.  Wish me luck.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten Books I Want to Read Before the End of This Year

  1. Janine Ray says:

    Hi Gail,
    I’ve read the first three and enjoyed them immensely. Also read Gone With The Wind and The Omnivore’s Dilemma (very thought-provoking). You have some enjoyable hours ahead of you 🙂
    Janine

  2. Pingback: Books I Want to Read in 2011 | Moonlight Reflections

  3. Pingback: Ten Books I Want to Read in 2012 | Moonlight Reflections

Leave a Reply

