Monday’s Question

I am starting a new blog series for Mondays called Monday’s Question.  I hope you will have fun with this and participate weekly with your comments.  Also if you have any ideas for questions, please feel free to let me know…  I gladly welcome your suggestions.   Here we go… let’s get started! 

The first Monday’s Question is:  What was your favorite childhood book?

When I was in elementary school, I loved to go to the library.  I remember being the student librarian several years and I was in heaven.  My favorite book in the library when I was in my early elementary school years was Little Bear by Else Holmelund Minarik.  Oh how I adored this book!  I checked it out every chance that I got (which was about every week).  And I would read it a million times.  I loved how Little Bear used his imagination (especially when he pretended to go to the moon).  And I always liked how loving and affectionate his family was to each other.  That always made me feel good.  I guess you could say I was somewhat obsessed with this book.  I remember the librarian calling my mother at home and telling her that she might want to have a little talk with me about “broadening my reading horizons” because I was checking out Little Bear every single week (and that there might be other kids who would like to read this book)!   When my kids came along, you can bet I bought them all the Little Bear books.  And I guess if grandchildren come along in the future, I will definitely introduce them to Little Bear

So that’s my favorite childhood book.  That was easy.  What’s yours?  

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Connie says:

    I can’t really remember what I enjoyed reading the most in early elementary, but I remember in upper elementary I LOVED the Little House on the Prairie series. I also loved Little Women. There was also a biography series that I enjoyed. I can see them clearly in my mind but cannot remember the name of the series. Too bad I can’t draw and color on here. :-/

    • Gail says:

      I loved The Little House on the Prairie Series too! I have Little Women, but will confess I have never read it. It’s on my VERY long list of books to read! Thanks for participating Connie, and if you think of that biography series, please let me know. I am curious now!!

      • Jenifer Hall says:

        I can’t remember every book that I read when I was young but I did like the Dr. Suess books. I think my favorite thing that I like to look at and read in my older years was my set of World Books that also came with Science World Books. You got sickers that you would put in the World book so you could look up a newer article in the Science book. I hate that I got rid of them, but I donated them to a School in a very rural area. I hope that some child at that school picks up one of those books and enjoys the places it takes them to and the knowledge it will give them. Thanks for making me reflect! I like Connie would love to color and play Barbie’s!!!! LOL

      • Gail says:

        I love Dr. Seuss too Jenifer! My parents also had a set of WB encycopedias that I loved to look at. How nice of you to donate your set for others to enjoy!! And thanks so much for coming to the blog and commenting Jenifer!

  2. Denise says:

    In 3rd-5th grades, I really liked the biographies. Not sure of the series either, but they were usually just the titles were usually just the person’s name…my favorite was about Harriet Tubman and the underground railroad. In 6th grade love for literature was born when I read A Wrinkle in Time. To this day it is one of my favorite books.

    • Gail says:

      I think I know of the biographies you speak of. I remember checking them out both in elementary school and the public library. They were always so much fun to read. Thanks so much for coming here and sharing Denise.

  3. Darlene McPherson says:

    If I remember right it was “The Little Calf that Cried”..maybe. It’s about a little calf that cried all the time, then one time he cried so much that it caused a pond of tears to freeze around him and he was stuck there while the farmer and his wife had to find a way to set him free..once free he never cried again.

  4. Paula says:

    My favorite book in elementary school was “Strawberry Girl” by Lois Lenski. I bet I read this book three times. This was the authors’ most famous book and she won the Newbery Medal for it in 1946.

Leave a Reply

