Things I’m Loving These Days

1.  Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman – The Complete Series

I was a huge fan of this show and was devastated when I got the news that they were taking it off the air.  Apparently CBS thought it wasn’t attracting the right age group (it was mainly appealing to women 40+ years).  In my opinion, we need more shows like this on television today.  It taught a lot of life lessons and I liked the historical significance it had.  It is so nice to be able to watch a show with no profanity in it and a show that is so family friendly.  I don’t understand why CBS canceled a show that was still very popular with its viewers and was getting such high ratings.  I really like Jane Seymour in this series and think she is such a good actress.  I have watched the series twice already and am on my third time.  I don’t care for anything on TV these days.  There’s too much blood and gore and too many crime shows on for me.  I get nightmares when I watch that stuff too much.  So instead, I choose to watch my favorite show over and over and I never seem to tire of it. 

2.  Clorox Wipes 

I can’t even begin to tell you how many of these things I use on a daily basis.  We buy them in bulk now at Sam’s Club.  I use them for wiping down my bathroom and kitchen counters, the stove, refrigerator, etc.  I occasionally will go around and wipe down all the phones with them (especially good to do during cold and flu season).  I learned the hard way not to use them on antique brass doorknobs as it pits the surface.  😦 They are also good at cleaning commode seats and I use them to wipe up the floor around the commode.  And when you have a house full of males, these come in handy!

3.  My cat

This is Bigfoot.  He is 16 1/2 years old (will be 17 in February) and is showing his age lately.  I am trying to enjoy every minute I spend with him because I know he isn’t going to be with me much longer.  That breaks my heart to even think about it, but I am trying to somehow prepare myself for this.  He is a polydactyl kitty, having extra toes on all 4 paws.  He sleeps with my husband and me every night (except when my oldest son is home from college; then he sleeps with him).  He has been a great cat and it has been hard watching him grow old.  He brings a lot of joy to my life. 

 

4.  V8 V-Fusion

My teenage son turned me on to this new drink by V8.  And he learned about it from his karate instructor.  My son is the world’s pickiest eater and won’t eat vegetables or fruits.  The V8 V-Fusion drinks have one serving of vegetables and one serving of fruit in one 8 oz. glass.  They contain NO artificial color, flavors or preservatives.  They have NO artificial sweeteners.  It is 100% juice and has no added refined sugar and no high fructose corn syrup.  It comes in several different flavors and so far I like them all.  The Acai Mixed Berry is my favorite.  My son likes the Pomegranate Blueberry and the Tropical Orange.  There is also a V-Fusion Light which has 50% less calories and sugar than the regular V- Fusion.  I can’t tell much of a difference in the light and the regular, so I stick with the light since I am always trying to lose weight.  V8 V-Fusion also meets the American Heart Association food criteria for saturated fat and cholesterol for healthy people over age 2.  This drink is both delicious and nutritious!

5.  Is it Hot in Here?  Or is it Me?  The Complete Guide to Menopause

I am reading this book now by Pat Wingert and Barbara Kantrowitz.  I bought it because I loved the title.  It has a lot of good helpful information in it and every chapter has a question and answer section in it which I love.  I am not even halfway through this book yet, but look forward to finishing it… it leaves no stone unturned.  And any help I can get with hot flashes is welcome!

6.  Mechanical Timer with Neck Cord

I have ended up really liking this timer I ordered out of a Walter Drake Catalog a lot more than I thought I would.  The timer on my oven/stove recently broke and I was burning things left and right.  I love the cord this timer has.  All I have to do is put it around my neck and it goes wherever I go so I don’t have to worry about not hearing it go off.  It also has a magnet on the back and so I stick it on the refrigerator so that the family always know where it is.

That’s all for now.  Any thoughts or comments on these items are appreciated anytime! 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I’m Loving These Days

  1. indie says:

    I loved Dr. Quinn and I wasn’t in the 40+ demographic. Its pretty typical that shows that appeal to women fail b/c advertisers know that men spend money stupidly on whatever is advertised to them much more than women do so they push for shows that appeal to the young male demographic. What the majority of people actually want means nothing.

    • Gail says:

      Very true Indie. I read a lot of things about this show and why it was canceled. I read that CBS never really gave a clear cut answer. I read that CBS hated Dr. Quinn (the show, not Jane Seymour) and didn’t like that it had a predominantly female star. Also they didn’t think it was “dark” enough, and so they tried making season 6 a little darker, killing off characters, letting Dr. Mike get shot point blank, etc., thinking it would attract more male viewers, but it was the least favorite season with the viewers and the ratings actually dropped.

Leave a Reply

