Recipe for Pumpkin Bread

I made my first batch of pumpkin bread of the season yesterday.  To me, there’s nothing better than pumpkin bread and a nice cup of hot coffee on a cold fall morning.  Almost didn’t get a picture of this loaf to post as it goes very fast once it is out of the oven!  Hope you enjoy!

Pumpkin Bread

3 1/2 cups flour

3 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups pumpkin (15 oz. can)

4 eggs

1 cup Crisco oil

2/3 cup water

1 cup chopped nuts (I prefer pecans but walnuts are good also)

1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix first six ingredients together.  Make a well in flour mixture and add pumpkin, eggs, water and oil.  Mix until smooth.  Pour into greased loaf pans.  Makes 3-4 small loaves or one big loaf.  Bake at 350° for 45 minutes to an hour (depends on size of loaf pans).  Done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. 

*For muffins, grease muffin tins.  Fill 3/4 full and bake at 350° for 20 minutes.  Makes 24 muffins. 

 

 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe for Pumpkin Bread

  1. Jane Maggard says:

    I am going to make a half a recipe as I have an opened can of pumpkin that is missing 1/4th cup used in some pancakes. Also, I don’t dare have too much around. 🙂

    Thanks

    • Gail says:

      Ha! I should probably halve it too when I make it. Twenty four muffins is a lot to have around and they are too tempting! I ate one for breakfast this morning and have been fighting the temptation all day to gobble down another one.

  2. Pingback: Things I’m Loving These Days | Moonlight Reflections

Leave a Reply

