Last Night’s Meatloaf Dinner

I love to cook.  Always have.  I love to try new recipes.  What I DON’T like is trying to figure out what to cook for my family of somewhat picky eaters.  I have a teenager who has to be the pickiest eater ever.  He doesn’t like vegetables.  Or fruit.  Or much of anything really.  He ate everything as a toddler, but somewhere between toddlerhood and kindergarten, he became finicky.  My mother used to cook every night.  EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT.  She was a very good cook and she cooked large meals.  I take after my mother in that regard in that when I cook, I tend to cook too much.  I’ve tried to change that since the hubby and I have been trying to lose weight.  We cut down our red meat to once a month.  Not really by choice, but after the hubby went for a colonoscopy and ended up having something like 11 polyps.  The doc told him to eat red meat only once a month.  I decided since colon cancer runs so heavily in my family, it would probably be wise for me to cut out red meat too.  It really hasn’t been near as hard for us to do as I thought it would be. 

Last night, it was time for some red meat and I decided a meatloaf would be good.  I made my meatloaf with A.1 sauce (will share recipe in another post).   I found this recipe in a magazine when I was a teenager.  I remember the first time my mother let me cook dinner for the family (my first meal to prepare alone, all by myself) and I made this A.1 meatloaf, mashed potatoes and some Sally Lunn bread.  I was a senior in high school.  My mother commented that my meatloaf was much better than hers (a huge compliment coming from my mother).  So the recipe was a keeper and when I make meatloaf now, I always use the A.1 recipe.  I was in the mood last night to cook and it didn’t help matters that I was hungry.  What happens when you are in the mood to cook and you are hungry?  You make waaaay too much food!  I cooked a big meal and I was stuffed.  But I decided I would just have to walk a little extra.  Here’s the menu.

Don’t you love this pig?  It was a birthday gift from my sister several years ago.  I use it as a nightly menu board…. that way, the family always knows what we’re having that night.  I love it!  The meatloaf turned out pretty good if I do say so myself.  And you know how I know that?  I know because my picky teenager actually tried it and liked it!  Yep, he ate a whole slice.   Of meatloaf! (faints on floor)

  

But  he wouldn’t try the corn on the cob.  Nope won’t even try it!

 

And how cute are these pig corn on the cob holders?  I found these at Kroger and just had to get a set.  Then I was gifted with another set by my sister.  Ha!  She knows my tastes!  I adore them. 

My son does like mashed potatoes and he did eat them.  I make them with REAL potatoes…. don’t care for the fake stuff or the dehydrated potatoes in a box.  I make mine with evaporated milk, butter, a little salt, and pepper.  Just like my mother used to make them. 

 

But picky teen wouldn’t eat the broccoli.  Occasionally he will eat it (thanks to his karate instructor) with a little complaining, but not last night. 

I had pumpkin bread too, but my silly picky teen wouldn’t eat that either.  He had a blueberry muffin instead.  He just doesn’t know what he’s missing. 

Here’s my plate.

From top going clockwise: mashed potatoes, pumpkin bread, corn on cob, broccoli, meatloaf. Iced tea to drink. YUM

How’s that for a nice southern meal?  Do you have a picky eater at your house?  How do you get them to eat?  I’m open to suggestions! 

Well, I am off to go walk that meal off now!  Until next time! 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Night’s Meatloaf Dinner

  1. Paula says:

    Dinner looks so good, now I’m hungry. Love the pig corn holders…so cute. Will have to try the A-1 recipe.

  2. Gail says:

    I think the pig corn holders are adorable. I saw some similar ones that were dachshunds (weenie dogs) and they were pretty cute too.!

Leave a Reply

