Monday’s Question

On February 24, 2010 vaccine experts voted that everyone 6 months and older should get a flu vaccine each year starting with the 2010-2011 influenza season. CDC’s Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) voted for “universal” flu vaccination in the U.S. to expand protection against the flu to more people.

What are your thoughts on this?  Will you be getting vaccinated against the flu this year? 

Oh boy…. I have really mixed feelings about this.  My husband got his flu shot last week (he gets a vaccine every year since he is a health care worker).  Last year, my sons and I got a seasonal flu vaccine but did NOT get vaccinated against H1N1.  My reasoning was due to the 1976 swine flu vaccine which was associated with the development of GBS (Guillain-Barre Syndrome).  GBS is a rare disorder in which a person’s own immune system damages the nerves causing muscle weakness and sometimes paralysis and sometimes even death. 

In very rare cases, someone may develop GBS in the days or weeks after getting a vaccination. 

The 2010-2011 flu vaccine will protect against an influenza A H3N2 virus, an influenza B virus, and the 2009 H1N1 virus that caused so much illness last season.  So millions of people this year will be exposed to the swine flu vaccine as it has been included within the seasonal flu vaccine. 

This article was an eye opener for me:   http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/8069426/Swine-flu-jab-linked-to-rare-nerve-disease.html

So there were 25 deaths in 1976 from GBS as opposed to one death from the swine flu. 

In years past I have felt like scare tactics are used to get people to get out and get vaccinated against the flu.  It didn’t seem the swine flu was as “bad” last year as they had predicted.  I understand the flu can be dangerous and can cause death, but are we being told the truth about the risks of the vaccines?   

My answer:  I am still undecided if I will get a flu vaccine this year.  I am thinking I will not be getting the vaccine.  And I’m not exactly sure I want my sons to get the vaccine either.  I still have a lot of thinking to do on this.  Maybe I’m just being a little paranoid since I just finished reading Overdosed America by John Abramson, a book that truly opened my eyes about how much influence the pharmaceutical companies have over our physicians and our health care.  And let’s face it, the pharmaceutical companies stand to make a HUGE profit over recommending that everyone 6 months of age and older get the flu vaccine this year.  And this year the push for everyone to get their flu shot started extra early it seems.  I was seeing signs at drugstores in July.  I’m just not too sure about all this. 

Just my opinions.  I would be interested in knowing what your thoughts are.

Gail ♥ 

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. indie says:

    I’m not planning to get it. I’ve never had the flu shot and get the flu maybe once every ten years. A ton of people I know end up getting flu symptoms from the flu shot. Kind of defeats the purpose in my book.

    • Gail says:

      After doing a lot of reading, I don’t think I will be getting it either Indie. I don’t recall EVER having the flu. I have also known people who seem to get sick from the vaccine. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

