Monday’s Question

What’s your favorite Halloween memory? 

My favorite Halloween memory is of my dad carving a jack-o-lantern every year on the night before Halloween.  My mother always lit it on Halloween night and put it either on the marble-top table in front of the living room window or put it on the front porch.  Back in those days, just about everyone in our neighborhood would have a jack-o-lantern displayed on Halloween night.  This was before the times of the Pumpkin Masters® carving kits.  I’m talking about just the good plain ole jack-o-lanterns with the triangle eyes and noses and the grins with one or two teeth.  I also remember my mother always making grilled cheese sandwiches and chili  on Halloween and my dad coming home from work to take my sisters and me trick-or-treating.  Back in those days, we usually made our own costumes (as opposed to store-bought costumes).  It was always fun trying to figure out “what you were going to be” on Halloween.  We would trick-or-treat until our bags would hold no more candy and then come home and dump our candy into the living room floor and go out for more.  Then we would come home and sit in the living room floor and “sort” and trade our candy. Those were definitely the good ole days. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Connie says:

    Our neighborhood had two entrances but only from Elm Hill Pike. The neighborhood went “back” several blocks. One year, one of the houses at the back, wasn’t very well lit but there was a guy (probably an older teenager) sitting on the sidewalk with a jack-o-lantern beside him. He would only let two or three kids come up at the same time. When it got to be my turn, he “missed” my bag. I started to walk away but he told me it was right beside his foot and it was a tootsie roll. So, in all my brilliance, I bent down to pick it up – only to discover that it wasn’t candy but dog poop!

    Not exactly a fond memory but definitely something that I’ll NEVER forget!!

  2. Gail says:

    Oh Connie…. I don’t think I would forget that memory either. Yuck!

  3. Paula says:

    One of my fondest memories of Halloween was probably around 1968. Not to sure of the year as it was so many years ago. One of our neighbors hooked a small trailer filled with hay to his tractor and loaded the kids up and took us trick or treating. Gail, do you remember that? Daddy went along for the ride, too. Guess he wanted to see how much black licorice we got!

    • Gail says:

      I’m sorry to say I don’t remember that at all. My memory seems to be really bad! I do remember a neighbor taking us on a hay ride in his back yard one fall.

Leave a Reply

