Monday’s Question

My mind is blank this morning for Monday’s Question.  Absolutely blank.  So I’m stealing a question a friend had on her Facebook page this week, since Thanksgiving is just a little over a week away and it’s a Thanksgiving question. 

What’s your favorite Thanksgiving side dish? 

I make a recipe every year that I got when I was a senior in high school from the King’s Arm Tavern in Colonial Williamsburg,  It is a sweet potato casserole.  I have made it every year since 1976!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Connie says:

    So where is the recipe???????

    I make a sweet potato casserole every year but I either don’t use a recipe or I use a different one since I can’t find the one I used last. :-/ I don’t like the marshmallow topping. I’m all for a pecan/brown sugar topping!!!!!!!

    We fry our turkey. Most of the time Raymond forgets when he put it in so we end up with the skin black – but the inside is still wonderful!!! It could also be turning black because of the rub I put on it. I’ll have to find my rub recipe and post it later.

    My oldest brother and his kids came down for Thanksgiving last year and we’re expecting them this year, too. His “can’t live without” dish is smoked oyster dressing. (We haven’t become fans yet but I’m sure we’ll get it this year, too.)

    A friend always makes Italian Coconut Cream Cake. She says it is best after it sits in the fridge for a day or two. She, along with her family, will be joining us this year so I’m sure we’ll all get to try it!!

    I’ll be keeping up with this blog so I can get more ideas!!!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for the question idea Connie!!! 🙂 I brown marshmallows on my sweet potato casserole (I guess because that’s the way my mother always made them). I tried the pecan/brown sugar topping once and I must have done something wrong because it came out hard as cement! I might have to try it again. I think the secret of the King Arm Tavern sweet potatoes is beating them with your mixer until they are very smooth.

      Can’t you put tin foil over the turkey during part of the baking to keep the skin from getting black…. seems I just read something about that last night…. will have to find the sight.

      My mother always made oyster dressing for my dad and regular dressing for the rest of us!

      Italian Coconut Cream Cake…. sounds delicious! I love coconut cake.

  2. Paula says:

    Your sweet potato caaserole is so good! My favorite side dish would have to be turnip greens although I cannot make them like Mother did!

    • Gail says:

      Well, since I am not a turnip green eater, I can’t say how yours compared to mother’s, cause I never tried either one!! But I’m sure yours are wonderful.

      And your pumpkin pie is always good!

  3. Connie says:

    I looked up the recipe for King’s Arm Tavern sweet potatoes. I think I’ll try it this year…but it will probably be topped with pecans and brown sugar.

    • Gail says:

      Glad you found it. I was going to tell you, it was on-line. When I went there in 1976, they handed out a recipe booklet containing all the things you had eaten. I went there again with my son’s elementary 5th and 6th grade group and we ate there. It was great once again, but they no longer handed out the recipe booklets.

  4. Wendy says:

    I also make a southern sweet potato casserole every year and my kids love it. It is made with a brown sugar and pecan topping. My kids also request a corn casserole every year. It too is a recipe from the south that includes corn, Jiffy corn muffin mix, eggs, butter and sour cream.

    • Gail says:

      Wendy, I will definitely have to try the pecan/brown sugar topping again. I have only tried it once but mine wasn’t so good and came out hard as concrete. The corn casserole sounds good. Send me the recipe when you get a chance! Thanks for commenting.

  5. Melissa Johnson says:

    I think I have a picture of our McGavock Group at the Kings Arm Tavern. That
    was a fun trip. Whenever I smell cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg I think of how good
    it smelled in Williamsburg! I don’t think I liked sweet potatoes then but now I eat them
    baked 2-3 times a week.

    • Gail says:

      Melissa, I would love to see that picture. I have a picture of us at Michie Tavern in Charlottesville, Virginia but none from King’s Arm Tavern. Michie Tavern had the very long tables and we ate off of pewter-like dishes. It was very rustic (of course). I have always said that the best meal I have ever eaten was the meal at King’s Arm Tavern and I will never forget it. Baked Virginia ham, sweet potato casserole, and the Sally Lunn Bread! I love Williamsburg and yes, that WAS such a fun trip! Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

