Some Things Never Change

Tomorrow my family will be celebrating Thanksgiving at my oldest sister’s house.  Thanksgiving has always been a big celebration in our family.  I can’t remember a year when we didn’t all get together and celebrate with a big meal.  I can still remember waking up as a young child to the smell of turkey roasting in the oven on Thanksgiving morning.  My mother used to cook the entire meal every year and now that I am older and married I often wonder how she used to do it by herself.  My sisters and I take turns hosting this holiday (as we do other holidays) and we always share in the cooking.  Thanksgiving is a holiday rich in family traditions and this year is no exception.  I know certain things are just a given on Thanksgiving. 

  • We will be up early in the morning to watch The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade. 
  • I will bring my 3 usual dishes: my broccoli cheese casserole, my strawberry nut salad, and my Kings Arm Tavern sweet potatoes. 
  • The middle sister will bring a relish tray, green beans, turnip greens and her famous pumpkin pies.
  • We will kid my sister about her pumpkin pie and ask her if she baked the pie shell (the first time she made a pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving, my mother asked her how long she had baked the pie shell and my sister’s reply was, “BAKED???”  Yes, she had forgotten to bake the pie shell).  We have never let the poor girl forget it either.
  • My oldest sister, the host, will make a splendid turkey and ham and both will be delicious.  She will also make her traditional cranberry salad. 
  • My brother-in-law will have a tray of nuts and dates… yum 
  • My sister’s house will be decorated beautifully and she will have her turkey napkin holder rings on the table that she made herself in ceramics back in the 70s.  It wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without them.
  • There will be way too much food.
  • My sisters and I will miss both our parents terribly at the Thanksgiving table.
  • My kids will enjoy being with their cousins and there will be much laughing at the “kids table.” 
  • There will be some grumbling from certain people (we won’t mention any names) about why they are STILL having to sit at the kid’s table and how they will never get to graduate to the adult table.
  • After dinner, the cousins will play a board game of some sort.  Last year it was Scattergories and the year before it was Apples to Apples.  Who knows what it will be this year. 
  • There will be football on the TV.
  • There will be much yelling at the TV.
  • We will take pictures of the newest member of the family on her first Thanksgiving with the turkey or a drumstick (my great-niece who is 6 months old).
  • We will remember fondly how our dad used to bring home Cherry Heering liqueur every Thanksgiving.
  • We will laugh about how our mother used to always say she couldn’t make gravy… and her gravy was always delicious.
  • Our middle sister will comment that she wishes she could make turnip greens like our mother used to make them. 
  • I will leave after dinner to take my husband (who is working on Thanksgiving…. such is the life of a nurse) a plate of food, and then come back to my sister’s house. 
  • We will all be miserable from eating so much but blessed to be with family we love.   

  

Gail ♥ 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Things Never Change

  1. Paula says:

    Excellent post. I will never forget the pumpkin pie episode. It was 1979. Hubby & I were dating. It was his first Thanksgiving dinner with our family. I will never forget him taking a bite of the pie and the look on his face. He didn’t say a word! Then Mother spoke up. He must have really loved me as we were married the next year!
    Thanks for writing this. I’m so thankful for my baby sister and her talented writing skills.

  2. Gail says:

    Yep, the pumpkin pie with the unbaked pie shell was a memory I will never forget. It was so funny! Memories, memories!

Leave a Reply

