Memories of a Real-Life Scene From “The Christmas Story”

I love to watch Christmas movies.  One of my favorites is The Christmas Story.  Such a good movie and funny.  I love the part in the movie when Ralphie’s friend Flick is “triple dog dared” to stick his tongue on the frozen flag pole.  The scene continues with his tongue getting stuck to the frozen pole (of course) and him having to “be rescued” by the police and fire departments.  When I see that part in the movie, it always reminds me of a day in my childhood, many years ago. 

Flick's tongue stuck to the frozen pole in "The Christmas Story"

My sister and I were home with our mom on this particular day.  My sister was around 8 years old and I was 7.  I will never forget that our mom was in the bathroom putting on her make-up (I think we were getting ready to go to the grocery store or something).  My sister and I were in the kitchen.   At that time we had an old Frigidaire refrigerator where the freezer door was on the top and the freezer door swung wide open.  The ice cream was kept in the freezer door.  It was one of the refrigerators that had to be defrosted which meant that the freezer always had ice and a coating of frost in it and the door was always very frosty when opened. 

I don’t recall what possessed my sister to do this, but for some odd reason, she decided to stick her lips up to the frosty freezer door (which she could barely just reach).  In a nanosecond, her lips became stuck to the frozen door.  She tried to pull them off of course but realized she was stuck.  She wasn’t going anywhere.  When she realized this she started screaming and flailing her arms.  Well, my 7-year-old self sure didn’t know what to do about this emergency situation so I did what any loving sister would have done.  I ran up the hall screaming for my mother to come to the rescue.  I quickly re-capped the situation for her and recall my mother running down the hall towards the kitchen with a half-way frantic look on her face and asking loudly what my sister was doing with her lips on the freezer door in the first place.  Heck if I knew.  When we got to the kitchen, we found my sister still stuck, still flailing her arms and in a complete state of panic.  But good ole mom…. she knew just what to do.  She calmly went to the sink where she filled a small drinking glass with water and poured it over my sister’s “stuck” lips, and presto!  SHE WAS FREE!  I remember seeing the bright red blood on her white frost-bitten lips.  I also remember my mother lecturing us on the reasons why we must never stick our lips to a frozen freezer door again.  Thanks mom, but I think we had learned our lesson the hard way on that one and that your lecture was totally unnecessary. 

My sister and I, even though in our 50’s now, often recall (with much laughter I might add) the day that she got her lips stuck to the freezer door.  It wasn’t funny at the time, but boy, we sure laugh at it now.  I guess that’s why the scene of Ralphie’s friend stuck to the flag pole is particularly funny to me.  Oh the things kids will do.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories of a Real-Life Scene From “The Christmas Story”

  1. Paula says:

    Awww…what a memory! I will never forget that and how my lips were so sore for days. Still don’t know why I did it.

  2. Gail says:

    Who knows why kids do some of the things they do?

Leave a Reply

