Books I Want to Read in 2011

I still have three books from last year’s list I never got around to reading, so I’m moving them to the top of this year’s list.  Here we go!

  1.  Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  2.  The Wisdom of Menopause by Christiane Northrup, M.D.
  3.  The Omnivore’s Dilemma- by Michael Pollan
  4.  Water for Elephantsby Sara Gruen.  I know a lot of people who have read this and really liked it.  Looks like another popular one with book clubs.
  5.  The Art of Racing in the Rain- by Garth Stein.  I have been told I should have Kleenex handy for this one!
  6. Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home- by Rhoda  Jansen.  Currently reading this now in book club.
  7.  The Almost Moon – by Alice Sebold.  I read the first two books written by this author- Lucky and The Lovely Bones and really liked them both.  Found a brand new hard back copy at Goodwill so couldn’t pass it up!
  8.  Becoming the Woman God Wants Me to Be –  by Donna Partow
  9.  Remembering Mother, Finding Myselfby Patricia Commins.  Another book that’s been sitting on my bookshelf for four years that I’ve wanted to read.
  10.  A Course in Weight Loss- by Marianne Williamson.  I need all the help I can get in this area!
  11. Your Body’s Many Cries for Water- by Batmanghelidj, M.D.  I’m hoping this book will inspire me to drink more water in my weight loss journey!  I’m not a big water drinker but I’m trying hard to change that and I’m finding it’s harder than I thought.
  12. Letting Go: A Parents’ Guide to Understanding the College Years- by Karen Levin Coburn and Madge Lawrence Treeger.  I read this four years ago when my first child went to college so this will be a re-read and a good review for me since son #2 will be going off to college this year!  It was highly recommended for all parents at my son’s college orientation.

I’m sure more books will be added to the list as our book club decides on more books in the future.  Last year, my favorite on the list (see Ten Books I Want to Read Before the End of This Year) was definitely The Help by Kathryn Stockett.  I couldn’t put it down and absolutely LOVED it!   I also really enjoyed The Good Earth by Pearl Buck, a book I had wanted to read for a very long time and am now glad I finally did!  I really grew to love the characters in that book and didn’t want it to end. 

What are you reading?????

Gail ♥  

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books I Want to Read in 2011

  1. Pingback: Ten Books I Want to Read in 2012 | Moonlight Reflections

Leave a Reply

