Monday’s Question

Question:  What are your thoughts/feelings on e-readers?  Do you have one?  Plan to get one? 

My answer:  I don’t have an e-reader…. yet.  I’m still warming up to the idea.  When I first heard about them, my first thought was, never… no way.  I think there are definite pros and cons.  My friends who have purchased e-readers (mostly Kindles) have loved them and raved about them.  I still think there’s nothing like holding an actual book, smelling the pages, turning the pages.  And I love browsing in libraries, old bookstores or even Goodwill and finding a bargain on a book.  I’m beyond sad to see so many of our bookstores closing.  Borders announced it was closing hundreds of stores nationwide after filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection in February.  Not sure if it’s the e-readers contributing to the closing of these stores or not, but I can’t help but think they’re PART of the reason.  I just hate to see bookstores becoming a thing of the past.  On the other hand, I am limited on space for books in my home, and so an e-reader would really help me out there.  So in a nutshell, I’m still pondering the idea.  I’m really interested in your comments on this matter. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. holly says:

    I totally get the romance with books. I like the book stores, holding them, turning pages… However, I have an iPhone that is my e-reader for the moment. I like that I can read it anywhere, at night when hubby or the kids are sleeping next to me in the bed, outside on a nice cool night and if there is a word I don’t understand or know how to pronounce, I can click on it and look it up right there. Since I always have my phone with me, so are my books. It is small and really not in the “e-reader” genre, it really is a phone. However, I can download the books to my puter and read them there.

    • Gail says:

      I am sure these electronic readers do so much more than I am aware of. Technology is so beyond me now…. don’t know if I will ever catch up! We still live in the “Flinstone era” in this household. Had no idea iphones had that capability. Thanks for educating me and for your comment Holly!

  2. Jane Maggard says:

    Like so many other “new electronic devices”, I am sure I will eventually get it and wonder why I waited so long. I am just not ready to give up my books yet. I was at Barnes and Nobels today and bought a DVD because Blockbuster, etc. is no longer in town. I have rejoined “netflix” so that I can get some movies, but that will be more expense than what I would have paid at a rental. Red Box does not have as good of a selection and I want to be able to keep it more than one night.

    • Gail says:

      I, like you, Jane, am not ready to give up my books either. I do see definite advantages in the e-readers though. We recently did a college campus visit day and were told that a lot of students are going to e-readers and downloading their textbooks. That way they don’t have all those back-breaking textbooks to lug around in a backpack. Never thought of that! Thanks for commenting Jane!

Leave a Reply

