Monday’s Question

Question:  What are some things that were around when you were  a kid that you wish were still around now? 

My answer: 

  1. Seven up candy bars.  Does anyone remember these?  I LOVED them.  They had seven connecting pieces all with a different flavor.
  2. Opryland USA.  As a kid I had so many fun memories there and then as a teen, had many fun memories working there.  My mother would buy us season passes (for only $25)!  She would drop us off at 10 am and pick us up at 10 pm.  Oh… the memories we made!  It was great fun and we always felt safe there.  I will never understand why they chose to tear the amusement park down and replace it with a mall. 
  3. The Carol Burnett Show.  It was good clean comedy at its best.  We used to laugh til we cried. 
  4. Roller Rinks.  They tore down the one I used to go to when I was a kid, and then the skating rink my kids used to go to was also torn down.  It’s sad.  Kids need places like this to hang around.  Roller rinks were always good places to have a little fun while socializing with peers.     
  5. Coca Cola in glass bottles.  It just tasted better.  Does anyone agree with me? 

That’s my list.  I could go on and on but I’ll stop at five.  What things do you miss from your childhood? 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Jane Maggard says:

    Seven up candy bars: I don’ remember them. They must have been after my time and before our kids.?
    Opryland USA: Our son worked there his junior and senior summers and later in the offices during college. I agree that tearing it down for a Mall was stupid.
    The Carol Burnett Show: I heard her interviewed on public radio the day Liz Taylor died, she said she was a good friend. I see the infomercials for her DVDs on late night TV. They are sooo funny. I bought the Dean Martin show and roasts, but have not gotten hers yet. I am tempted.
    Roller Rinks: Loved them when I was in high school. I got my own skates for Christmas one year and stopped going the next year. 🙂 Our kids went a few times here while in grade school.
    Coca Cola in glass bottles: If you want to taste what they once tasted like, buy the glass bottle ones packed in Mexico. Much better tasting than ours. Krogers has them in the “Mexican food ” section. They are $1.25 each, but a treat once in awhile.

    Things that were around when I was a kid that are gone that I miss are: Playing “kick the can”and “hide and seek” in the streets and being safe. Saturday afternoon movies with cartoons and Fash Garden, etc. Knowing all of your neighbors on a first name bases. Using Mr. and Mrs. for the adults of course. I sound older than dirt! I almost am physically 🙂

  2. Gail says:

    Jane,

    My sisters and I would get the Seven Up candy bar usually in Garretts Drug store. I believe it was retired in the 70’s. It was divided into 7 segments- cherry, coconut, caramel, fudge, orange jelly, maple creme and Brazil nut centers.
    http://candyaddict.com/blog/2008/04/07/retro-candy-flashback-seven-up-bar/

    I’ve seen the Coca Cola bottles in the Mexican Food section and wondered what that was all about. I’ll have to give them a try! Thanks!

    I also miss feeling safe like we did back in the 60’s and 70’s. Those were the days!

    Again, thanks for your comments Jane!

  3. Indie says:

    The Mexican Coca Cola has real sugar in addition to being in the glass bottles so it really the way it used to be.

    • Jane Maggard says:

      Right, no artifical stuff or high fake sugars or syrup, etc.

      • Gail says:

        I have been drinking diet drinks for so long that now regular cokes taste much too sweet to me. I almost can’t stand to drink them now. But I will have to try the Mexican Coca Cola!

Leave a Reply

