Recipe for JELL-O Dirt Cups – A Great Earth Day Treat!

Jell-O Dirt Cup. I use 9 oz. plastic cups.

I was a room mother just about every year that my sons were in elementary school.  One year on Earth day when my oldest was in 2nd or 3rd grade, one of the other room mothers and I made these JELL-O Dirt Cups and took them to the classroom for a special treat.  The kids gathered around and asked what they were.  When I replied “Dirt Cups”, they appeared puzzled and weren’t sure whether they should eat them or not!  I guess they thought we were actually trying to get them to eat real dirt.  But they were a big hit and were always a hit with my kids.  Enjoy!

JELL-O Dirt Cups

1 package (16 ounces) chocolate sandwich cookies

2 cups cold milk

1 package (4-serving size) JELL-O Chocolate Flavor Instant Pudding and Pie Filling

1 tub (8 ounces) Cool Whip® Whipped Topping, thawed

8-10 (7 -ounce) paper or plastic cups

Decorations: Gummy worms and frogs, Candy flowers, Chopped peanuts, Granola

Crush cookies in zipper-style plastic bag with rolling-pin or in food processor.

Pour milk into large bowl.  Add pudding mix.  Beat with wire whisk 1 to 2 minutes.  Let stand 5 minutes.  Stir in whipped topping and 1/2 of the crushed cookies. 

Place about 1 tablespoon crushed cookies into each cup.  Fill cups about 3/4 full with pudding mixture.  Top with remaining crushed cookies. 

Refrigerate 1 hour or until ready to serve.  Decorate with gummy worms and frogs, candy flowers, peanuts and granola. 

Makes 8-10 servings. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recipe for JELL-O Dirt Cups – A Great Earth Day Treat!

  1. connie says:

    My mother used to cater weddings, showers, and teas. I remember many years ago she made something like this for showers before Earth Day was even imagined. (Maybe even before Cool Whip was invented…lol) We used chocolate wafers instead of sandwich cookies, and orange sherbet and vanilla ice cream mixed together. I believe we used the small red clay flower pots instead of plastic cups, and we decorated them with tissue paper flowers or artificial flowers. Haven’t thought about those in years!!! Thanks for bringing back memories!!

    • Gail says:

      Connie,
      Your comment reminded me that I went to a bridal shower once and one of the snacks was the dirt cups that they made in the terra cotta pots! They were so cute!

      And by the way, your mother catered my sister’s wedding!

  2. Pingback: Earth Day Fun | Moonlight Reflections

  3. Pingback: 5 Fun Foods for Earth Day : Prime Parents Club | connecting and celebrating parents in their prime (35+)

Leave a Reply

