Refeathering the (Almost) Empty Nest: Dating Each Other…. Again

A high priority for both my husband and me as we soon begin our life as empty nesters, is to start “dating” again.  The last 22 years of our marriage has been centered around parenting our two sons.  It’s time to “rediscover” each other.  Our dates won’t be too fancy or expensive because we will have two kids in college, at least for a little while anyway.  I’ve thought a lot about what our dates will be like and I sat down and made out a list of some of my ideas.  Here’s a list of 50 I came up with to share. 

  1. Our old reliable dinner and a movie. 
  2. Go on a nature hike.
  3. Star gazing in a dark open field away from city lights. 
  4. Go on a picnic in a park.
  5. Fly a kite.
  6. Play miniature golf (we did this a lot during our teenage dating years).
  7. Flea market/antique mall shopping
  8. Go out for breakfast.
  9. Go to the park/lake and feed the ducks. 
  10. Go horseback riding.
  11. Visit a zoo.
  12. Go fishing (another thing we used to do during our earlier dating years).
  13. Work a puzzle.
  14. Spend a night playing board games. 
  15. Go for a moonlight walk.
  16. Go for a moonlight canoe ride.
  17. Go for a horse-drawn carriage ride. 
  18. Go to the county fair (our county fair is the best)!
  19. Go to a comedy club.
  20. Take a drive in the country.
  21. Go on a fall hayride.
  22. Go on a weekend getaway to a bed and breakfast. 
  23. Visit a botanical garden.
  24. Have a movie marathon from the year we married.
  25. Do a cave tour.
  26. Have a backyard picnic, complete with tablecloth and candles.
  27. Make ice cream sundaes together. 
  28. Read a book together. 
  29. Go bowling.
  30. Cook dinner together. 
  31. Go to a drive-in movie (if we can find one)!
  32. Play frisbee in the park.
  33. Walk the Shelby Street Pedestrian bridge at sunset.
  34. Get tickets to the symphony (I might be able to talk hubby into this).
  35. Hot air balloon ride (something I have always wanted to do). 
  36. Go on a bike ride.
  37. Enjoy a candlelight dinner at home on the patio. 
  38. Take a class together. 
  39. Pizza party where we make our own homemade pizza. 
  40. Camp overnight in the backyard. 
  41. Spend a Saturday morning garage sailing.
  42. Spend a night looking at old yearbooks and photo albums. 
  43. Go Eagle watching!
  44. Visit an aquarium.
  45. Dessert only date (Shoney’s Hot Fudge Cake is one of our favorites)!
  46. Spend one night at an upscale hotel.
  47. Pick strawberries together and make chocolate strawberries. 
  48. Go to a star party. 
  49. Have a pot luck dinner party. 
  50. Have friends over for a backyard fire.  Cook tin foil meals on the fire. 

So that’s my list.  What are your ideas for a fun date?

 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Refeathering the (Almost) Empty Nest: Dating Each Other…. Again

  1. connie says:

    Get Netflix. Hook your computer up to your tv so you can watch movies instantly. (You can also play Netflix through Wii, XBox, and PlayStation.) That way, you can combine movie night and pizza party!

    • Gail says:

      Good idea Connie….. but we would probably have to get our sons to hook all that up for us since both of us are so technologically challenged! LOL

      I do good just to be able to change the channel and even that can be challenging since there is more than one remote. I’m telling you, I stay confused!

  2. I’m going to have to think on the “fun date” question. The fact I have to think on it leaves me a little depressed, since it underscores how my only “dates” in the last year and a half have been an occasional beer-and-movie date!

    Your list is already inspiring me. We’ve got a grandma and a great grandma rarin’ to give us some time off, after all! 🙂

    • Gail says:

      I think it’s important (but not always easy or possible) to try to have a regular date night even when you have small children. We tried it many times when our boys were little. Nothing on a regular basis though, and we often found ourselves sitting in a restaurant talking only about our kids! Oh well, we tried! LOL

      Glad grandma and great grandma are willing to give you some time off! Take advantage of it!

  3. Paula says:

    What a good list! Guess I’ll never have an empty nest since I still have the 25 yo son at home. If you ever get lonely, let me know and I’ll send him over. I remember when you & hubby were dating that y’all would always play backgammon. In fact, y’all taught me to play. Do you still have your board?

    • Gail says:

      Paula, we were talking about how we used to play backgammon the other day. Rick had a set in a brown leather case and he gave me a black and gray set. We still have both! We discussed teaching the boys to play but then realized that neither of us remember one darn thing about how to play ourselves. Surprising since we used to play all the time! We spent many many hours playing. I still have the directions that came with mine. One day, I’m going to sit down and review them. Hopefully, it will all come back to me!

  4. enjoy says:

    Hi, my nest is not totally empty, but soon will be. Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

