Simple Strawberry Dessert

My husband and I love strawberries but we don’t eat them much.  I’ve never liked to “prepare” them for eating.  There’s the washing and the hulling and then the tedious slicing.  I was thumbing through one of the many mail order catalogs I receive and happened to come across this little strawberry slicer. 

It looked like something I would definitely use and like.  So I ordered one.  It was well worth the few bucks I spent on it and sliced my strawberries cleanly and easily and quicker than I could do it by hand with a knife.  It was perfect!  Making simple little strawberry shortcakes is so much easier now.  Actually, someone told me I could have probably used an egg slicer with good results also, but I’m happy with this little gadget. 

I thought strawberry shortcakes would be good to have after dinner this week.  I bought 2 lbs. of strawberries. 

 

I washed them and drained them. 

Then I hulled them and sliced them.  This took less than 10 minutes with my new little gadget. 

I always add a little Splenda to the berries

Sprinkle a little Splenda on, stir and let them sit a few minutes.

Take some shortcake shells

Squirt a little whip cream on a shell, pour on some sliced strawberries, and top with more whip cream and berries.  You have a simple, quick, delicious strawberry treat!  Enjoy! 

I liked this little strawberry slicer gadget so much that I have ordered two more – one for my mother-in-law and one for my oldest son who both love to eat strawberries.   I hope they like it as much as I do. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Strawberry Dessert

  1. Wendy says:

    Gail,
    Where did you get the strawberry slicer?

Leave a Reply

