Today’s Cleaning Project: The Bathroom Drawers

Today I cleaned out my bathroom drawers which had accumulated so much clutter that it was becoming increasingly difficult to shut one of them.  After throwing away some stuff that needed to go, finding new places for a few things that didn’t belong, and reorganizing with some little mini baskets I found, they look a little better.  I hesitate to show before and after pics because I don’t think they look a lot different.  You just have to trust me… the “after” is definitely better. 

1st bathroom drawer (before)

1st bathroom drawer (after)

2nd bathroom drawer (before)

2nd bathroom drawer (yeah, I know, it doesn't look a lot different does it?)

 The throw away pile:

the discard pile

And then there was this:

 

An old bottle of my mother’s perfume.  At first it went into the discard pile, then it came back out, then back in the discard pile, then back out.  I took the top off and sniffed it and memories of my mother came flooding back to me.  Why can’t I bring myself to throw this away?  I know I need to, but for now, I just can’t.  Silly, I know, but tears are flowing down my cheeks as I type this.  I don’t wear the perfume.  In fact, I’m not even sure I LIKE it.  But still, it reminds me of my mother.   Maybe one day soon, I’ll be able to toss it. 

And there was also this:

An ancient personalized plastic hair barrette I wore as a young girl (that I’m sure my mother bought for me).  I’ve had it all these years.  Did I mention I’m 51?  How silly is that?  See, I really AM a sentimental messie.  Don’t worry, it’s going in the trash. 

Last week I tackled the two bathroom cabinets which felt good because I threw away a lot of crap that was just taking up space.  I find that most of these jobs that I dread, really don’t take long to do and then I’m left asking myself why I procrastinated so long over doing it.  Even though I worked on the cabinets several days ago, I’m including them in today’s cleaning project. 

1st bathroom cabinet (before picture)

1st bathroom cabinet (after cleaning)

 

2nd bathroom cabinet (before picture)

 

2nd bathroom cabinet (after cleaning)

And the best part…. this is the pile of stuff I threw away.

the clutter that got trashed

 

So…. I have accomplished a little in the bathroom.  The more I throw away, the more I want to throw away.  I just have to keep going with these daily projects. 

*I will add here that I really didn’t like publishing the before and after pics.  After posting them, I almost deleted them.  Besides being terribly boring for people to look at (yes, even for me too!), and very time consuming to take the pics and post them, it just felt a little too personal to publish these.  So…. I definitely won’t be doing this for every single daily deluttering/cleaning project I post about.  That’s for sure.  I know you’re relieved about that.  But for now, you can see what I’m trying to accomplish as I go room to room in my decluttering quest.  Like I said in a previous post, I’m using this blog as a way of holding myself accountable.   

Gail♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Today's Cleaning Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Cleaning Project: The Bathroom Drawers

  1. Great job on the projects!

    I completely understand on the sentimental stuff, and I can see why you kept the perfume. Good call.

  2. Laurie Ford says:

    Gail,
    I read your blog the other night about being a clutter hound and how you want to de-clutter and organize. I just wanted to tell you a little about me. After I went through my very long and drawn out messy divorce back in 1988 thru 1990, I decided to do a major clean out and yard sale. I was tight on money, trying to raise 3 children on my income and no child support. My girls had twin beds, but I was sleeping on my son’s bottom bunk because I didn’t have any bedroom furniture (after the ex took it). My mother had just bought me a day bed and I had just finished decorating “my” bedroom which was nice because it was just “mine”. I wanted to get my son some new bedroom furniture because he had grown out of what he had, but I didn’t have the money. I cleaned out EVERY drawer, closet, nook and cranny and sold EVERYTHING that had been related to , used by, or reminded me of the ex. I sold wedding gifts. I sold sheets, blankets, you name it.

    This process was the most transforming experience for me. It was extremely therapeutic for me. So much that over the years I have continued to keep things extremely organized. My kids think I have gone overboard at times! I change out my closet twice a year for the seasons (I keep my winter clothes in a closet in a spare bedroom) and go through everything at that time, donating to Goodwill or my girls. I also have an empty cabinet in my utility room that I keep yard sale items in. Whenever I find something that hasn’t been used in over a year or is completely obsolete, it goes in that cabinet waiting for the next yard sale that my girls decide to have. Plus, I watch all those clean out shows (Clean House, Hoarding, etc.) all the time. My husband thinks I’m obsessed with them.

    So, all of this is just to tell you that the more you clean out, the more you will want to. I think it gives me a great feeling of accomplishment. How silly is that!! Maybe I’m getting a little OCD in my older years!!

    Good luck!!
    Laurie

  3. Gail says:

    Wow Laurie, thanks for posting this. Your story was very encouraging to me! It is true that the more I throw away, the more I WANT to throw away. I just need to keep on going! Everytime I go into a Goodwill store, I think, o.k. I’m going home RIGHT now and am going to start decluttering. Something about that store does it to me every time! Decluttering and reorganizing DOES give you a feeling of accomplishment…. nothing silly about that at all. It’s always been easier for me to clean and organize other people’s houses. When my mother was sick and we were still caring for her at home, I would clean a lot while she was sleeping (not much else to do). It always made me feel good to get a project accomplished- a drawer cleaned out, a closet reorganized or just the bathtub scrubbed and the floors mopped. Thanks so much for sharing your story!

Leave a Reply

