100th Post!

It sure doesn’t seem like it, but this is my 100th post!  Sort of a big milestone to a blogger.  A lot of bloggers celebrate this milestone by having a 100th post giveaway or by posting “100 random things about me.”  I remember getting tagged in a Facebook note once entitled “25 random things about me” and found that it wasn’t easy coming up with just 25 really random things about myself.  How would I ever come up with 100 random things?  It wouldn’t be easy (even though I’m stuck home with a respiratory bug coughing my head off and have nothing better to do).  Then I wondered if people really like to read these things.  I think in general, people either love them or hate them.  Personally, I like to read them.  I like reading random lists about people and bucket lists especially.  If it’s a friend’s list I’m reading, I find I usually end up learning a few things about that person that I didn’t know.  So, as I have contemplated for the past few days on what to do my 100th post about, and couldn’t decide on whether I wanted to do a giveaway or a list post, I decided, why not do both?!  Why not do a list post AND a giveaway?  So that’s what I’m doing.  The giveaway is just all for fun.  I’m not advertising it or promoting it.  Sometimes it’s just fun to win something and it’s my little way of showing my appreciation to the readers of this blog.  I especially enjoy the comments I receive.  After all, it’s only through the comments that we bloggers know that people are actually reading our blog!  All you have to do to enter this giveaway is to comment on this post.  Tell me something you like about the blog, or even something you don’t like about it, or even better, give me a topic idea of what you would like to see in a future post.  That would be great!  You have until midnight, one week from tonight, June 26, to comment.  The following day, I will put all the names in a hat and randomly draw one name (you will just have to trust me that this will be done honestly).  That person will win LIFE’S Expanded Commemorative Edition of The Royal Wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton.  

They will also win a copy of the book All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot. 

It’s as simple as that.  As far as the list post goes, I have decided to modify it a little and list 100 things I’ve learned in life.  Are you ready?  Here we go! 

100 Random Things I’ve Learned in Life 

  1. Always live by the Golden Rule. 
  2. There is no such thing as being perfect.   
  3. Life isn’t easy.  It wasn’t meant to be. 
  4. Everyone should have a passion or die trying to find it. 
  5. I really need to smile more. 
  6. Some teachers shouldn’t be teaching.  Period. 
  7. Never judge others. 
  8. Especially never judge others based on their family members. 
  9. The wisest decision I made in my life was to marry my husband. 
  10. The second wisest decision I ever made was to quit my job and become a stay-at-home mom.  It’s something I’ve never regretted, not for a minute. 
  11. A hug can do wonders for me when I’m feeling down.    
  12. Not all people like to be hugged. 
  13. There’s nothing cuter than a fat little frog.  Nothing. 
  14. Music opens our souls.
  15. Being  in a marching band teaches one a lot about life. 
  16. Education and learning are life-long.  If you ever reach a point in your life where you think you have nothing more to learn, you better think again. 
  17. Petting an animal relieves stress. 
  18. Being around a good dog is good psychotherapy. 
  19. I never knew how much I would miss my parents until they were gone. 
  20. Paint never looks the same on your walls as it does on the little paint chips in the store. 
  21. Watching my children graduate from high school gave me some of the happiest feelings I’ve ever experienced, but also some of the saddest.  
  22. Looking through old photo albums can sure cheer up my mood. 
  23. Hot lemon tea with honey is soothing for sore throats.   
  24. Spouses should sit down every once in a while and look at their wedding pictures together.  It’s a reminder of what that day was all about and a reminder of the vows they took together. 
  25. It feels darn good to get rid of stuff that I no longer need. 
  26. Losing weight in my 50s is 100 times harder than it was in my 40s. 
  27. I’m still not sure what the purpose of Algebra is or why I had to take it. 
  28. “Housework” is never-ending.  It is constantly unraveling itself.  Don’t ever think you are getting close to the end of it, because it has no end. 
  29. I don’t have patience to deal with alcoholics, especially those that are in denial about their problem.  I do, however, have the utmost respect for those who make it their life’s vocation to help them. 
  30. I didn’t inherit my father’s love for flying.  I do not like to fly.  Truth is, it scares the crap out of me.  Sorry daddy.
  31. I’m perfectly content to stay at home as opposed to traveling (see # 30 for part of the reason). 
  32. Never trust a client who tells you their animal would never bite. 
  33. Rocking a sleeping baby has to be one of God’s greatest blessings. 
  34. Always honor and obey your parents.   
  35. Be respectful to others who are trying to do their job, whether it’s the President of the United States, the waiter serving you lunch, the doctor who is caring for you, the teenager sacking your groceries, or the man picking up your garbage.  They all deserve to be respected.  I just don’t know any other way of saying that.
  36. Never pet a cat who has his ears flat against his head.
  37. If a cat is crouched and hissing, spitting and growling, you better not stick your hand in the cage if you want that hand back intact. 
  38. Cat bites can be very serious.   
  39.  Teenage boys can melt your heart sometimes.   
  40. I am leery of people who say they don’t like animals.  Sorry, I just am. 
  41. No one can take care of you when you’re sick like your mother can. 
  42. We all have to be responsible and take charge of keeping ourselves healthy.  No one’s going to do it for us. 
  43. It never pays to try to be anyone other than yourself. 
  44. It’s never a bad time to pray. 
  45. Sometimes it’s good to act like a kid again.  Splashing in rain puddles, playing in a pile of leaves, and catching lightning bugs can do us all good.   
  46. All animals deserve to be treated with respect.  Even snakes. 
  47. When I’m leaving the house and I have the feeling that I’m forgetting something, I better listen to that feeling, because 9 times out of 10, I am. 
  48. Never turn your back on helping people.   
  49. There’s nothing cuter than a roly-poly little puppy.  Nothing. 
  50. Reaching the halfway mark of a list of 100 things feels great!
  51. If a boss tries to get you to do things in your job that go against your morals, then that job is not worth having.      
  52. God does indeed comfort those who are mourning. 
  53. Taking care of one’s mental health is every bit as important as taking care of one’s physical body. 
  54. If a friend tries to force you into doing something you don’t want to do, then they’re not much of a friend.
  55. If a boy tells a girl that she has to sleep with him in order to prove her love to him, then he’s not worth having. 
  56. There’s nothing cuter than a chubby little baby boy in overalls.  Nothing. 
  57. There’s something about walking in moonlit snow that does my soul good. 
  58. We all need to stop and smell the flowers occasionally. 
  59. Sometimes it’s good to just take time for yourself.  Read a book, take a warm bath.  Do something just for you. 
  60. The two things I will never like as long as I live are beets and asparagus. 
  61. There’s nothing cuter than a newborn piglet.  Nothing. 
  62. The older I get, the less I like to watch television. 
  63. Bullies try to act tough on the outside, but on the inside, they’re usually very insecure people who struggle with self-esteem issues. 
  64. Pets can sometimes love us far more than some humans will ever be capable of.
  65. It’s better to do a lot more listening and a lot less talking. 
  66. It’s a waste of time to worry a lot about what people are thinking about you.  Chances are, they rarely think about you!
  67. Sometimes the right thing to do is not always the popular thing to do. 
  68. There’s nothing wrong with saying the words, “I don’t know.”
  69. Sometimes I’m going to be wrong.  Sometimes I’m going to hurt others.  The thing I need to do then, is to say I’m sorry. 
  70. It’s a lot harder staying in veterinary school than it is getting into veterinary school. 
  71. There’s no place like home!
  72. Always learn from your mistakes. 
  73. Pay your credit cards off by the month. 
  74. If a deal sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. 
  75. Sometimes we all need to cry. 
  76. Be there for your parents at the end of their life.  It’s when they need you most. 
  77. Panicking in an emergency is never a good thing. 
  78. There’s nothing better than a cup of hot chocolate on a cold snowy day, except maybe a bowl of chili.   
  79. You may think you have it bad, but there is always someone who has it much worse. 
  80. Our bodies were meant for walking.  Look how much Jesus walked.  If it was good enough for Him, it is certainly good enough for me. 
  81. When in doubt, drink more water. 
  82. Browsing in a bookstore is calming to my soul.   
  83. It never pays to be dishonest. 
  84. Procrastination really does steal our time. 
  85. It’s really silly to complain about the weather.  We can’t change it.  So we should accept it and move on.
  86. If everyone practiced daily random acts of kindness, the world would be a lot better place. 
  87. When you compare yourself to others, there is always someone you are going to feel inferior to. 
  88. Friends must be chosen wisely.
  89. Be a good winner as well as a good loser. 
  90. Sometimes we have to go out on a limb and try something new that’s out of our comfort zone.  It’s how we learn. 
  91. Riding amusement park rides in your 50s does not always have a happy ending, especially if you’ve just had lemonade.   
  92. No one knows your body like you do.  Listen to what it is telling you.  It may save your life. 
  93. It’s everyone’s responsibility to help keep our earth clean.  Don’t litter. 
  94. Take lots of pictures. 
  95. When having conversations with God, they don’t have to be elaborate and eloquently worded.  God knows what’s in our heart.   
  96. It’s never wrong to love. 
  97. Difficult trials are a part of life. 
  98. I receive strength from God by faith. 
  99. Trying to go to sleep before your teenager gets home from a date is a waste of time. 
  100. God will always give me the grace to do what He calls me to do. 

Gail♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 100th Post!

  1. connie says:

    So what’s cuter – A fat little frog, a roly-poly little puppy, a chubby little baby boy in overalls, or a newborn piglet? LOL And I would love to know how what ride it was that didn’t mix with the lemonade!!

    I love reading your blogs…even though I’ve missed a few. 9 times out of 10 you make me think. I would be hard pressed to come up with a list of 100 things I’ve learned. I know I’ve learned MORE than 100 things (except the reason we had to take Algebra) but actually thinking of them and typing them all would be quite difficult!!

    Thanks for taking the time to do this. And thanks for making me think. 🙂

    • Gail says:

      Connie, I will have to let you decide which one of those is cuter, because I can’t! LOL

      It was the Tempest that didn’t mix with lemonade. Will NEVER ride that one again. Rick and I made the mistake of getting on it together. We were both green when we got off and we actually fought over who was going to drive the car home!

      Thanks for reading the blog and especially for your comments. I always enjoy your humor!

  2. Wendy says:

    Gail,
    Great list! I wholeheartedly agree with #10. A decision I wouldn’t trade for anything. Thanks for writing. I’ve learned some things about you, my friend.

    • Gail says:

      Thanks Wendy! I hope they are good things you have learned. I so wish we lived closer. I miss our talks over Shoney’s Hot Fudge Cakes. Those times helped to keep me sane in vet school 🙂

  3. Paula says:

    Love your list! Love reading your blog because you are my sister and are an excellent writer. I have not missed one post, although I don’t always comment on each one. Congratulations on your 100th post!

Leave a Reply

