Red White and Blue JELL-O Cups

I reposted this blog from 2011 yesterday and today, I’m linking it to the WordPress daily one-word prompt: snack

I’m a few days late in getting this posted as I had planned to have it up by the Fourth of July, but it didn’t happen.  But that’s okay, because this is actually a good “patriotic treat” to have any time of the year.  I just happen to make them every year on the Fourth of July.  It’s one of our family traditions.  When my kids were little, they absolutely loved to help make these and I was happy for the help as they are a little time-consuming.   They would also be a good Memorial Day or Veteran’s Day treat.

Red White and Blue JELL-O Cups 

  • 1 package (8-serving size) JELL-O Brand Berry Blue Flavored Gelatin (I have never found this brand of JELL-O in the larger box, so I use 2 of the smaller boxes).
  • 1 package (8-serving size) JELL-O Brand Gelatin, any red flavor (I use cherry).

  • 4 cups boiling water
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 tub (8 oz.) Cool Whip® Whipped Topping, thawed

Dissolve each package of gelatin completely in 2 cups of boiling water in separate bowls.  Stir 1 cup cold water into each bowl of gelatin.

Pour each mixture into separate 13 x 9-inch pans.  (I use 2 of the rectangular glass Pyrex dishes).  Refrigerate until firm, at least 3 hours.

Cut each pan into 1/2-inch cubes.  I use a butter knife to do this and it works well.  Don’t worry if you don’t cut your cubes perfectly…. it won’t be noticeable.

     

 Spoon red cubes evenly into dessert dishes; cover with whipped topping.  Top with blue cubes.  (I have found the easiest way to remove the cut cubes from the dish is by using my fingers – the cubes lift out very easily).  I use 9 oz. clear plastic cups but you can get fancy and use any clear glass dish.

  

Red White and Blue JELL-O cups. I went a little heavy on the whipped topping this year on this particular batch!

Makes 12-14 servings.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red White and Blue JELL-O Cups

  1. This could have been a great treat for my son who’s crazy over Jellos. What a cool idea. Very artistic and patriotic too. Thank you for the visits and the comments. I appreciate each one of them. I wish my wife Blogs so she can see all the wonderful things I’m discovering right now. The tips you share are just sweet and extraordinary. Thanks again.

    • Gail says:

      You are welcome! My sons both loved to help me make these when they were younger. It is a family tradition and I have made them many, many years on the Fourth of July.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Moonlight Reflections

  3. Gail says:

    Reblogged this on Moonlight Reflections and commented:

    Re-posting a Fourth of July family favorite!

  4. Pingback: Guest post: The writer and the tortoise – redesign life

Leave a Reply

