Monday’s Question

Question:  When was a time in your life when the end of one thing meant the beginning of another? 

My Answer:  That time for me would be right now!  We are moving our “baby”, our youngest son, into his college dorm this week.  He will be about 130 miles away from home.  No more kids at home now.  My nest will be empty.  I won’t be getting up in the mornings to make breakfast for a teenager and to make sure he gets out the door to high school.  I won’t be looking at the clock in the afternoon awaiting his safe arrival home from school.  I won’t be trying to figure out what to make for dinner that he will eat.  I won’t be asking him if he has homework or if he has done his homework.  Yes, things are fixing to change drastically for both him and me.  These are definitely bittersweet times.  Exciting times.  Scary times.  Happy times.  Sad times.  I’m not sure I am ready for this change in my life… not so sure I was ready for the child rearing days to be over just yet.  These years have flown by so fast.  It seems I blinked my eyes, and they were gone.  My mother-in-law warned me this would happen, but I guess I didn’t want to believe it.  I’m not sure what the days ahead will bring.  I’m sure there will be some grieving and an adjustment period I’ll need to get through.  It’s going to be a big adjustment, but I have some things lined up to keep me busy.  I’m excited for my youngest son and I know he’s going to be successful in college and in whatever he chooses to do with his life.  I have a lot of faith in him.  As for me, I have a lot of soul-searching to do and a lot of decisions to make on what this next phase of my life will entail.  Big changes are ahead and prayers would be appreciated! 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

