Recipe for Lasagna

This is an old lasagna recipe that I’ve had since I was a teenager.  It’s time-consuming to make, but easy, so allow plenty of time (about 5 hours from start of preparation until it’s done).  It’s from NES (Nashville Electric Service).   

Lasagna

1 No.  2 1/2 can Italian peeled tomatoes (a No. 2 1/2 can is about 2 1/2 cups or 20 oz.) 

2 8-oz. cans tomato sauce

1 tsp. onion salt

1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano

1/8 tsp. black pepper

2 tbsp. parsley flakes

1 1/2 tbsp. sugar

1 cup minced onion

1 minced garlic clove (I use 2 tsps. garlic juice)

1/3 cup salad oil

1 lb. ground meat

1 tsp. accent

1 tsp. salt

1/2 lb. lasagna noodles

1/2 lb. mozzarella cheese, grated

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 lb. ricotta cheese or cottage cheese (I use cottage cheese)

In large saucepan combine first 7 ingredients; simmer. 

In skillet, sauté onion and garlic in oil.

Add meat, accent and salt.  Sauté until meat is  no longer red. 

Add sautéed ingredients to large saucepan.  Cook for 2 1/2 hours.

Cook lasagna as directed. 

In rectangular casserole dish, put layer of meat sauce, then layer of lasagna, cottage cheese, mozzarella cheese and parmesan cheese.  Make 2 or 3 layers.  Cook at 350 for 50 minutes.  Cool 10 minutes before serving. 

Yield:  8 servings

Here’s a couple of pics of the prepared pan…. ready to bake!  I apologize for the poor quality of the pictures.  I was having camera issues.  Finally got the problem figured out later (I hope). 

 

And here is the finished product  (didn’t get a picture of it before it started getting devoured).  

To me, lasagna always tastes a lot better the second day after it firms up a bit.   Tonight I prepared this dish with a salad and some Texas toast. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recipe for Lasagna

  1. Looks delicious. I’ll tell my wife to try it. She makes an improvised , easy to cook version using a spaghetti recipe whenever my son asks for a pasta. Thanks for sharing .

Leave a Reply

