Monday’s Question

I am currently reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin in my book club.  It is about a woman who decided to devote a year of her life to becoming happy.   It is a thought-provoking book to say the least and I was impressed with the amount of research this author did on happiness, which helped her devise her “happiness project.”  All of this to say that today’s idea for Monday’s Question came from the reading I did in her book last night, which was about having fun.  Everyone has different ideas about what fun is.  What constitutes fun for me, may not be fun for you.  I think this is the reason I have never made out a bucket list.  I fear my bucket list would be so boring to others.  I am a homebody and I do not enjoy traveling.  I don’t like to fly (sorry daddy).  I’m perfectly content to stay at home.  I don’t have any wild desires to bungee jump or to sky dive.  That might seem incredibly boring to some people but you know, that’s o.k.  My oldest sister is just the opposite and she LOVES to travel.  She goes on several trips a year and has such an adventuresome spirit.  I admire that in her, but at the same time, I’m perfectly content to just look at her pictures instead of traveling to those places myself.  Like the author of The Happiness Project, sometimes I feel a little ashamed at what I would list as “fun” for me.  Then after I thought about it a while, I decided it’s nothing I should be ashamed about at all.  It’s who I am.  Human beings are all different and that’s a good thing!  How boring life would be if we were all the same and had the same likes and dislikes.  So here’s Monday’s Question.  I’m looking forward to seeing your answers! 

Question:  What are some things you find fun? 

My Answer: 

  1. Playing board games with family and friends
  2. Reading.  I love reading books and lately, I really enjoy reading blogs. 
  3. Walking/hiking in the woods.
  4. Seasonal fun, especially this time of year.  I love hay rides and visiting pumpkin patches and corn mazes.  I turn into a big kid at Halloween.  In my opinion, one is never too old for a moonlit hay ride!!
  5. Cooking, especially trying new recipes.
  6. Writing.
  7. Visiting zoos or anywhere there are animals to learn about.
  8. Working crossword puzzles.
  9. Having a heart to heart conversation with a girlfriend. 
  10. Listening to music.

What about you?  Tell me about some ways you have fun.   

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

