Backgammon Anyone?

When my husband and I were dating, we became backgammon fanatics.  He came over one night with a backgammon case in hand and asked me if I wanted to learn how to play.  I’ll never forget that old familiar black and orange game case.  It became a familiar sight in our “dating years”, and truthfully, it probably kept us out of a lot of trouble. 

Hubby's backgammon case

To be honest, I didn’t really think I would like the game.  But I was wrong.  Once I got the hang of it, I loved it and we played it all the time.  I found it way up in a closet the other day and boy did it bring back memories. 

One of my sisters asked me just the other day if I remembered how I used to spend many date nights playing backgammon with my future husband.  I remembered.  Those were fun times.  He even presented me with a backgammon game of my very own for my birthday.  It had a gray felt case.  I found it in the closet the other day also… right next to hubby’s orange and black case.   I got them both down and dusted them off.  Despite all the use they got back in our dating years, some 30+ years ago, they are still in great shape. 

 

I was thinking the other day that it might be fun to start playing again, now that my husband and I are empty nesters.  I even thought it would be fun to teach our sons how to play sometime.  But there’s one problem.  I don’t remember how.  I don’t remember ANYTHING about backgammon, which seems hard to believe since we lived and breathed it during our dating years.  Isn’t that strange?  I don’t remember how to set the game up, or even what the object of the game is.  Or how you win.  Or anything.  The other night I asked hubby if he remembered.  He didn’t.  It made me wonder if anyone even plays backgammon anymore.  I don’t hear much about it.  I pulled up some instructions on the Internet and quickly scanned through them, but nothing really rang a bell.  It was as if I never played before.  That’s a little scary.  I guess it’s a good thing I kept these. 

We plan to read through these this week to see if we can jumpstart our memories.  I’ll let you know how it goes. Maybe we’ll be playing backgammon again real soon. 

Gail ♥ 

 
About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Backgammon Anyone?

  1. jeanne says:

    I played my share of backgammon back in the day…I have been keeping my eye peeled for one while stopping in at garage sales and estate sales. Enjoy re-learning the game!

  2. Paula says:

    I remember your backgammom days. In fact, you taught me how to play. I’m like you now, I can’t remember the first thing about the game! LOL! So many years ago……….

Leave a Reply

