My Dad, My Hero… Growing Up In Aviation

This past weekend, my two sisters and I had the honor and pleasure of attending the 2011  Tennessee Aviation Hall of Fame Gala and Induction Ceremony.   Our father was a pilot and he was recently nominated for the Hall of Fame, so we were invited up this year to their 10th Anniversary Gala celebration and to see the museum.  The Tennessee Museum of Aviation was built and opened in 2001 and is located on the airport in Sevierville, TN.   Their website states that “it is dedicated to the preservation of aviation history, including the aviation history of Tennessee; to the advancement of aviation education and to honoring those who have made significant contributions to aviation and aerospace for Tennessee, our nation or the world.”  Four aviators a year are inducted into the Hall of Fame… three living and one deceased.  My sisters and I enjoyed both the museum and the Gala/Induction ceremony.  It was a splendid event done in such a way as to pay the highest honor to ALL the inductees, past and present.  And believe me, those honors are well-deserved.  I’m not sure about my sisters, but it was somewhat of an emotional evening for me.  I know my father would have loved it.  He would have loved seeing the museum and viewing all the aircraft in the hangar.  He would have loved seeing old friends and seeing the induction ceremony.  Seeing some of the old warbirds my father used to fly brought tears to my eyes and I just couldn’t help but feel his presence among us.  One of the inductees this year was Brigadier General Norman C. Gaddis, USAF.  While on a combat mission in Vietnam, he was forced to bail out of his plane near  Hanoi.  He was immediately captured and became a prisoner of war in North Vietnam for 2,124 days.  If I’m doing my math correctly, that’s almost 6 years.  He told a little of that story and his ordeal.  I could not even imagine what that must have been like.  I had a lump in my throat the size of a baseball throughout his speech, and the speeches of his two sons.  One of the aircraft I saw in the museum hangar, was a medevac helicopter used in Vietnam.  I had never seen one of those up close nor did I have a clue of just how massive those helicopters were.  I had a good friend and colleague, Howard Deck, who was a medevac helicopter pilot in Vietnam for three tours of duty.  While Howard generally didn’t talk about his experiences in Vietnam, I knew that he had been shot down three times and received severe burns to both legs during one of those incidents.  Howard died in a tragic car accident not quite two years ago at the age of 66, and it wasn’t until after his death that I learned he was the recipient of the Purple Heart.  Seeing that mighty bullet-ridden medevac aircraft, and how enormous it was, put another huge lump in my throat and brought tears to my eyes.   I was abruptly and unexpectedly overwhelmed with an indescribable loss for my friend.  And I suddenly had a newfound respect for him that I had not experienced (or felt) when he was living.  And that made my heart sad. 

Tennessee Museum of Aviation Exhibit Gallery- from the TN Museum of Aviation website

 

Another exhibit gallery view of the TN Museum of Aviation- taken from the TN Museum of Aviation website

35,000 square foot Aircraft Hangar- taken from the TN Museum of Aviation website

  

My father started flying at the age of 15 in the late 1930s.  You had to be 16 to solo.  He worked around the airport in his hometown in Indiana to earn enough money for flying lessons.  He made his first solo flight at 16.  He obtained his pilot’s license before he had his driver’s license.  He used to ride his bicycle to the airport.  With the onset of World War II, he joined the Army Air Corps, which later became the U.S. Air Force.  He became a civilian pilot for the Ferrying Division, Air Transport Command (ATC) where he ferried military aircraft, both domestic and foreign.  Later he accepted a position as Production Test Pilot for North American Aviation in Columbus, Ohio.  His duties included test flying the F-86 and F-100 for the USAF and the FJ series of fighter planes and the AJ series of bombers for the U.S. Navy.  He moved our family to Nashville, Tennessee in 1960, when I was just under a year old.  As a corporate pilot, he continued his flight training and authored the book, Your Jet Pilot Rating.  He had a Secret Service Clearance that complemented his flight experience, and was selected on many occasions to pilot for such dignitaries as Presidents Jimmy Carter and Gerald Ford.  He also donated his services as a pilot to fly young burn victims to the Shriner’s Hospital for Children in Cincinnati, Ohio.  Without a doubt, my dad’s greatest love was being a Flight Instructor.  He became the owner of Nashville Aviation Academy, where he shared his love of aviation and experience with budding pilots for over 35 years.  He held Commercial Pilot, Flight Instructor, Instrument, Single and Multi-engine ratings with reciprocating, turboprop, and jet applications, and Land and Sea Ratings.  At one time he taught aviation acrobatics.  He obtained over 33,000 hours in flight with 19,866 as a flight instructor.  My dad was still flying and teaching students at the age of 71 in 1992, and was still pursuing a passion that he dearly loved and was devoted to.  That year he was diagnosed with cancer and succumbed to it two years later.  It was said by a close friend and fellow pilot at his funeral, that he is in heaven now, and he’s teaching those angels a thing or two about flying.  The thought of that made me smile, and it still makes me smile today.  I miss him so much.   

Daddy- July 4, 1938 at age 16. Taken 2 months after his first solo flight

Daddy (standing on the left) at age 21. June- 1943

 

Daddy- 1949

 

North American Aviation Test Pilots - October 1952. Daddy is 2nd from the end on the right

 
 

Growing up as daughters of a pilot exposed my sisters and me to a lot of aviation.  We laughed this weekend when we reminisced about how each of us learned to drive on a runway.  True story.  We all learned to drive on Berry Field airport runways, before it became Nashville International Airport (BNA).  BNA stands for Berry Field Nashville.  There was another “grown child of a pilot” at the gala this past weekend who sat at our table, and who laughed when he told us he too had learned to drive on a runway.  I think part of my learning to ride a bicycle occurred on a runway too.  Yep, growing up around airports was a lot of fun.  I have many happy and vivid memories of playing in hangars and getting to sit in the cockpit of different airplanes and jets that most people will never set foot in.  I remember my dad letting me and my sisters taxi the airplanes in and letting us help him tie the planes down (something I always loved to do).   My sisters and I watched countless planes take off and land, and we took many airplane rides and trips in planes. 

Unfortunately, I didn’t inherit my father’s love of flying (which I have probably mentioned a time or two in this blog).  If the truth be known, flying panics and terrorizes me like nothing else can.  Also, for me, there’s that little inconvenience of a thing called airsickness.  My father used to own a little orange and turquoise Cessna and I lost count as to how many times I threw up in that little airplane.  My first question after learning we were about to go up, was, “Daddy, did you remember the barf bags?”  He learned never to forget the airsickness bags when I was along.  And you can bet, I just about always used them.  Sometimes just the smell of the plane was enough to make me airsick.  And after a few years, all I had to do was SEE that little Cessna from a far distance, and I could start heaving.  My father used to tell me it was all in my head.   I didn’t have a car in college and my dad would often fly up on Friday to bring me home for the weekend (yes, in the infamous orange and turquoise Cessna).  Thankfully, for me, it was only about a 15 minute ride.  He usually had a student along and I always enjoyed seeing my dad in  “flight instructor mode.” 

 

Me as a young girl at Berry Field Airport

 

Another perk to having a father who was a pilot, was that my sisters and I got to meet and see some famous people.  Some of the few I remember were Elvis Presley, Three Dog Night, Bobby Sherman, Jack Wild, Minnie Pearl, and President Jimmy Carter.   I’m sure there were others. 

I love being around older aviators who are around my dad’s age.  I have always noticed they are some of the happiest people I know, especially when they get to share their knowledge and love of their passion, aviation.  They are plain and simply a joy to be around.  And they always seem to have funny stories.  I enjoy talking and listening to them and just watching them from a distance.  To me, they seem to exude happiness.

Daddy- circa 1956

   

Hopefully, this time next year, my sisters and I will be returning to the Hall of Fame Gala to watch our late father get inducted into the Tennessee Aviation Hall of Fame.  What an honor that would be!  It’s all very exciting when I think about it.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  And if that doesn’t happen?  Well…  let’s just say, we’re bursting with pride over his nomination.  My dad will always be my hero.  ALWAYS.  And nothing will EVER change that.   

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Aviation, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Dad, My Hero… Growing Up In Aviation

  1. Paula says:

    An excellent post. Had to laugh about the barf bags……I’ll never forget those!

  2. Chip Rowe says:

    Gail,

    Hang in there – the nomination for my father, Mack Rowe was sent in 3 years ago and we were overjoyed to have had him inducted into the Hall of Fame this year. With so many outstanding aviators, such as your father, who have called Tennessee home, it was such an honor for our family to see my late father singled out from among them to be enshrined. It truly was a gala event.

    Chip Rowe

    • Gail says:

      Chip, congratulations on your dad, Mack Rowe, and his induction into the Hall of Fame! His biography was so very impressive and I know you are so proud of him. It truly is such an honor! I can’t help but think our dads must have known each other. Thank you so much for reading this and for taking the time to comment.

  3. Hi Gail,
    I re-posted the picture of your father and other test NAA Test pilots on my blog, thought they deserved a place on my humble hall of fame. Good luck with getting your father into Tennessee Hall of Fame. Please check out my blog,

    http://jetpilotoverseas.wordpress.com/

    I’d be happy to post any photo relating to your fathers post war career.

    All the best
    Stu

  4. FD Hanson says:

    Thank you for your story. My father was also a test pilot @ NAA with your father in Columbus.
    Your photo of the test pilots in 1952 brought back lots of good memories. My father, Fred Hanson,
    is second from the end on the left.

    • Gail says:

      How awesome! Thanks for letting me know that!

      After my dad passed away, I found a scrap book up in the attic. Looking through it, I found a newspaper article (entire page) all about this group of NAA test pilots. I believe it gave a little info on each pilot. It was very interesting! It is very fragile and yellowed due to being up in a hot attic for many years and I need (and plan) to take it somewhere soon to get it laminated to protect it from further damage. Would you be interested in a copy? I remember my mom telling me that at the time of my dad’s death (1994), there was only one remaining test pilot living. I don’t remember which one. Then we got word that he had passed away not long after my father. I remember we all felt very sad at hearing that news.

      Thanks so much for your comment!

      • Don says:

        Hi Gail:
        My father passed away in 1992. He died of ALS (Lou Gerhigs Disease)
        I Would be interested in a copy of the newspaper article when you get a chance.
        I plan on going through my fathers flying memorabilia with my brother and sisiters again.

        I ‘ll let you know if I find anything that may be of interest to you.
        Thank You,
        F D Hanson

      • Gail says:

        My condolences on the loss of your dad. He passed away the year my father was diagnosed with cancer and had his stroke (he had a massive stroke on the operating table during his colon cancer surgery).

        It may take me a few weeks (I’m moving my son back to school), but will dig out the newspaper article over the next few weeks and get a copy for you. If you can, send me your mailing address to gebd@msn.com. I can also make you copies of any pictures I have if you would like.

        Thanks for the information on your dad.

Leave a Reply

