Monday’s Question

Question:  How will you be celebrating Thanksgiving this year? 

My Answer:  Our family will be going to my oldest sister’s who will host Thanksgiving for the family this year.  She (the host), usually prepares the turkey, dressing,  ham, rolls, cranberry sauce, gravy and drinks.  Then the rest of us bring a dish or two (or three).  That way, the burden of doing all the cooking isn’t on the host.  My middle sister always makes a relish tray to snack on before dinner and she will be bringing her green beans, turnip greens, and her famous pumpkin pie and fudge pies.  My three nieces are all making desserts and a nephew is making macaroni and cheese.  I am bringing my three traditional dishes:  1)  My King’s Arms Tavern Sweet Potatoes– a recipe I got in Colonial Williamsburg when I ate there my senior year in high school.  I have made them every year for 34 years  2)  Broccoli casserole 3) a Strawberry Nut Salad.  I will also be bringing some boiled custard and egg nog and pumpkin bread.   So as you can see, there will be no shortage of food!   I’m looking forward to being with family, as always, and especially looking forward to one or both sons coming home from college (one son may not be able to make it home).  I’m excited that this year my husband has the holiday off.  He’s a nurse and so he works every other Thanksgiving.  He was supposed to be off last year as he worked Thanksgiving the year before, but the holiday rotation got messed up and he ended up working.  So we’re all glad he will be able to join us!  I’ll take board games as all the cousins usually like to play games after dinner.  And as always, I will miss my parents like crazy.  Thanksgiving isn’t quite the same without them.

How about you?  How will you be celebrating Thanksgiving this year?  I wish you all a day filled with love and blessings. 

 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. After reading the food list, I got so hungry. Everything sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing our Thanksgiving story. This is a special day to be thankful and be with the people we care about. As for me, I will bring my son to Sea World in San Antonio in the daytime and my wife to the outlet at San Marcos for the midnight madness sale. To me, as long as I’m with them during this trips, it’s feels like “Thanksgiving Day” every time. God bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

