Things I’m Loving These Days

1.  Garden flag stand and flags–  I recently purchased a garden flag stand at Ace Hardware to put in my front yard by the sidewalk.  Now I’m always looking for bargain garden flags.  I found a good deal on a Harvest/Thanksgiving flag at Ole Time Pottery and I’ve also purchased some flags on eBay… deals that were too good to pass up!  I can easily see this becoming an addiction!  So many pretty flags to choose from!  I had several fall flags and Christmas flags and even found a graduation flag that I displayed for a couple of weeks when my son graduated from college recently.  I just purchased a patriotic garden flag I can use on multiple patriotic observances as well as some spring and Easter flags. 

 

2.  New dining room and living room curtains–  We painted our living room and dining room back in November.  It was time for a change in window treatments.  The previous pastel pink (bleh) curtains that came with the house were soooo outdated and would no longer go with the new paint colors anyway.  I chose JC Penney’s Spice Market Paisley print sheer curtains that match my colors perfectly.  And I love the waterfall valances.  In the dining room, I also put up a bead panel for a more elegant touch (the cat thinks these beads are the greatest thing ever), but left the beads off on the two living room windows. 

dining room curtains with bead panel

 

waterfall valances and bead panel

left living room window with new curtains

right living room window with new curtains

 

3.  Barbara and Susan’s Guide to the Empty Nest- By Barbara Rainey and Susan Yates–  I am finishing up this book and enjoyed it far more than I EVER imagined.  I loved hearing stories from other women and how they dealt with all the changes and emotions that come with the empty nest.  This has been a very insightful book written by two Christian women who give some pretty good advice.   

 
 
 

4.  Newton’s Fruit Thins- Fig and Honey Flavor–  I love these!!!  But I’m one of the rare weird people who loves figs.  They’re very light and crispy and have a good taste. 

 
 

5.  St. Francis of Assisi Figurine–  I came across this ceramic St. Francis figurine the other day while shopping in an antique mall/flea market.  It was a bargain and I couldn’t pass up a deal like that of my favorite saint!  Now the decision is…. do I keep him or give him to my sister (who also loves St. Francis)?  Hmmm….He’s looking mighty fine on my foyer table right now…..

 
 
 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Things I'm Loving These Days and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I’m Loving These Days

  1. Paula says:

    Great post. I found a new garden flag that I will give to you to add to your collection. I think you will like it. Your curtains look great! I love the bead panels. The St. Francis figurine looks good on your marble table. Guess our sister won’t be receiving it as a gift after all! LOL!

  2. I love all your list but one thing that struck me the most was no. 5, St. Francis of Assisi. It’s like a reminder of whom to call and pray when time gets tough. I used to pray that he would intercede for me during a time of challenge way back in college…but now I realized, I needed it more. Life is easier when we have a faith to believe in, a God to ask for help, a grace that there’s a joy behind a dark cloud. Thank you. Happy Valentine’s Day. Wishing you and your love ones all the love and joy.

Leave a Reply

