Monday’s Question

Question:  What’s something you’ve done once, but then swore you would never do again? 

My Answer:  One summer many years ago, when both my sons were still young, our family journeyed to Kentucky Kingdom in Louisville, KY, which was a combined amusement park and a water park called Splashwater Kingdom. (Kentucky Kingdom is not currently open).  We all decided to go to Mt. Slide Hai and ride one of the giant water slides…. the ones that are open at the top and where you sit on an inner tube for the journey down the tube.  Well that little 1-2 minute plunge down that slide ended up being one of the most terrifying 1-2 minutes of my life.  Call me boring, but for me, there was certainly nothing “fun” about it.   I went down the entire slide backwards (couldn’t get that tube turned around to save my life) and at times got “sloshed” to the very top of the rim of the slide where I just knew for sure that I was going to go sailing over the side and top.  Yep, I about had the big one on that thing.  When I did finally hit the pool at the bottom, I was not only so scared out of my wits that I was literally trembling and my teeth were chattering uncontrollably, but I was also very disoriented.  Tears and water were stinging my eyes.  My husband and oldest son went before me and were standing off to the side on a deck with huge grins on their faces and waving.  Our youngest son was going last, after me.  He was probably 7 or 8 years old.  All I could think of was that my baby was coming down that “tube from hell” after me and I was TERRIFIED for him (and mad at myself for getting him in this predicament… WHAT WAS I THINKING)?   Once I got my bearings and figured out what planet I was on, I found myself swimming to the end of the tube that had just deposited my traumatized body into the pool.  I was ready to “catch” my little boy when he came flying out of that tube.  Next thing I knew, an employee was blowing his whistle at me and telling me I had to “move” and “get out.”  I remember screaming at him to watch for my boy, who I knew was going to be just as traumatized as I was (he wasn’t).  They threw him a rope with a lifesaving tube on the end and helped pull him out (I’m sure this was not really necessary and only done to appease me).  I vowed that was my very first water slide ride and would for sure be my last.

What about you?  What’s something you’ve done once and then swore you would never do again?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. I’m sorry to hear that. That is one scary and traumatic experience. This one reason I don’t do big slides anymore. I don’t know if my heart can take the fear and suspense. Thanks for sharing this post. God bless you and your family.

  2. Gail says:

    I can’t do amusement park rides and especially roller coaster rides now that I’m older. I used to ride things like that when I was younger, but just can’t do it now. Something happens to us when we get older and the apprehension that they cause worsens!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Again | Moonlight Reflections

Leave a Reply

