Monday’s Question

I’m recovering from surgery which has involved some barbaric pain, pain pills, and brain fog, so let’s just say I haven’t been paying very much attention to this blog.  I think I have missed Monday’s Question for the past two Monday’s.  At the risk of sounding like a broken record, I am going to try to make a better effort at writing more and fulfilling my goal of posting a few times a week!  Here’s Monday’s Question for this week.

Question:  What rule of etiquette are you tired of seeing others break?

My Answer:  Writing thank-you notes.  When I was a little girl, I remember my mother encouraging  forcing me to sit down and write thank-you notes after receiving birthday and Christmas gifts.  It was something that was expected of my sisters and me and in our household.  You did it or you faced the wrath of my mother, and believe me, the wrath of my mother was something you didn’t want to incur!  My mother taught me that writing thank-you notes was a way to show respect and appreciation to the “gift-giver.”  It was the polite thing to do according to her.  I remember at my wedding, many people brought gifts to the reception and when my husband and I got home from our honeymoon 9 days later to open those gifts, many were without cards or tags telling us who they were from.  Needless to say, I never wrote thank-you notes to those gift-givers.  I still feel a little guilty to this day when I use those nice gifts too.

Unfortunately, many people today completely overlook this aspect of etiquette.  I read something recently that said about half of people do not write thank-you notes.  Personally, I’m willing to bet that it’s MUCH higher than that!  While I do NOT give gifts just to receive a thank-you note, I do agree with my mother that’s it’s the polite and proper thing to do.  I have to admit, I can’t remember the last thank-you note I received for a wedding gift or baby gift that I’ve given (except from my niece Jessica and my sister obviously raised her right).  I tried to teach my sons in the same way that I was brought up and taught them to write thank-you notes after receiving gifts.  I don’t think I’m being old-fashioned in this tradition.  I guess in a nutshell, it just makes me a little sad that rudeness seems to be the “in” thing these days.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this.  What rule of etiquette are you tired of seeing others break?

Silent gratitude isn’t much use to anyone.  ~G.B. Stern

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. Kaitlyn Reasoner says:

    Your response fits completely with the book I’m currently reading: “365 Thank Yous” by John Kralik. It is about a man who sets out to write 365 thank you notes in a year! I’m not that far yet, but it seems like a good book–you might enjoy it too! 🙂 And by the way, I completely agree with your response! 🙂

    • Gail says:

      Kaitlyn, I read about that book! It reminds me of the book I recently finished- “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp. It sure made me pay attention to the many blessings in my life…. little things that are often taken for granted.

  2. timzauto says:

    My response would have to be , how kids today are increasingly disrespecting there elders . Grownups , adults , you name it some children are being taught there superior to others , even at a young age . Had I acted in this sort when I was a child , I would have been walking funny for a week . Just my opinion ….btw Gail I have written plenty of Thank you notes as have my brothers and sisters…

    • Gail says:

      Tim, I have had many teacher friends tell me this is an increasing problem (kids disrespecting their elders). It is disturbing to say the least. Thanks for commenting!

  3. timzauto says:

    BTW hoping you feel better as well….Tim

  4. Love your generous honesty my friend. Yes, I do see a lot of people saying less and less “thank you’d.” I think it’s just a basic manners and etiquette. It also reflects what kind of person we are. Whether we are thoughtful and appreciative or just plain “I don’t care attitude.” The world need all the kindness it can get and it starts with us. God bless you and your family.

    • Gail says:

      I agree completely! It IS just about basic good manners and unfortunately, it seems to me that good manners seem to be flying right out the window these days!

  5. Indie says:

    I’m pretty bad about sending thank you notes. Whip me with the bad girl stick! I did read from one of the etiquette columns that a note is not necessary when a thank you is verbally given to the gift giver and I do try to say thank you at least.

    • Gail says:

      Indie, I agree and think there are times certainly when a verbal thank you is adequate. I guess I tend to feel that there are certain occasions though when gifts should always be followed by a written thank you note (and most etiquette books I have checked go along with this thinking too). Wedding and baby shower gifts are an example, as well as graduation gifts. I told my kids at their high school graduations that if someone took the time to get a gift for them, that they could certainly take 5-10 minutes of THEIR time to thank that person with a written thank you note. It’s the polite thing to do IMO. And I hope they teach their kids the same.

  6. I wish and pray for your fast recovery and good health. I never had a surgery before but I see it everyday how patient’s suffer from the pain and everything about the healing process. Take care my friend.

Leave a Reply

