My Summer Reading List

I realized recently that I have read every book on my ten list of books to read for 2012 with the exception of only one.  I have so many books on my to-read list and many I hope to read this summer.  I’m reading Gone With the Wind now (a book that has been on my to-read list for many years).  Here’s my summer list.

1.  The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown.   My book club recently read this.  It had been recommended by a few friends and I liked it a lot better than I thought I would.  I really felt myself being drawn into the story-line and I identified with the characters of this book.  I was sad when it ended and found myself wishing for a sequel.  This book is definitely one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

2.  The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.  This is the book our book club is getting ready to read.  I haven’t started it yet, but have read many positive reviews about it and it seems to be popular on book club reading lists.  My sister has already started it and she is loving it!

3.  Gone With the Wind— by Margaret Mitchell.  As I stated above, I’ve had this book on my to-read list for a very long time.   This book was my mother’s all-time favorite book and she was always telling my sisters and me that we should read it.  I recently had to have some surgery where the recovery has been a little “slow-going” and with some complications, so I decided this would be as good a time as any to finally get this book read, while I am having to rest, heal, and recuperate.  It’s good and interesting (even though I find myself wanting to slap that spoiled and sassy Scarlett O’Hara).

4.  A Light in the Window— by Jan Karon.  This is the second book in the beloved Mitford Series (I think there are nine books in the series).  I hope I enjoy it as much as the first book in the series which I recently read,  At Home In Mitford.  Like it says on the back of the cover, “Enter the world of Mitford, and you won’t want to leave.”  Oh, how true!  I so loved the characters in this fictional town of Mitford, and especially the main character, Father Tim, a bachelor Episcopal rector.  Never a dull moment in this little town!

5.  The Harbinger: The Ancient Mystery That Holds the Secret of America’s Future by Jonathan Cahn.  I was in Books-A-Million one day and talking to one of the cashiers as I was checking out.  I had casually mentioned I was in a book club.  I had a coupon for a free coffee and so when I was standing at the Joe Muggs Cafe counter getting my coffee, this same saleslady came over with a copy of this book in her hand.  She went on and on about the book and said it would be a good book for my book club to read.  She said the entire time she was reading it, she felt like God had her by the shoulders and was shaking her and saying, “Wake up, wake up, YOU can make a difference in this world.”  She told me it would definitely open my eyes.  She sold me.  While our book club decided NOT to read the book, I will definitely read it on my own.

6.  Inside Of A Dog: What Dogs See, Smell, and Know— by Alexandra Horowitz.  As a dog lover and a veterinarian, this book looked like it was right up my alley.  Couldn’t resist it and can’t wait to read it!

7.  Letting Them Go: Prepare Your Heart, Prepare Your Child for Leaving Home– by Dave Veerman.   I read this book when my first child went off to college five years ago.  I’m an empty nester now, as my last child just finished his first year of college and will soon be starting his second year.  I’ll put this bluntly:  I suck at being an empty nester.  I know there are mothers out there who say they can’t wait for their nest to be empty and it’s something they look forward to (I’m not sure if this is relevant, but I’ve noticed the mothers I’ve heard say this have all had more than two children).  Not me.  I wasn’t ready for that part of my life to end and I haven’t adapted well.  I believe my kids have done just fine but it’s been difficult for me.  So I’m rereading this one not so much as to prepare my son, but to see if I can work at preparing my heart a little more.  I’m confident I will adapt…. it’s just going to take some time.

8.  Boy: Tales of Childhood— by Roald Dahl.  Roald Dahl is one of my most favorite children’s authors ever.  When my sons were little, we spent many happy hours reading several of his books:  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Danny the Champion of the World, The BFG (boy did we laugh a lot at this one… so hilarious), The Witches, George’s Marvelous Medicine, The Twits, The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me, The Magic FingerFantastic Mr. Fox, James and the Giant Peach, and Matilda.  Two on our shelf that we didn’t read were Boy:Tales of Childhood and the sequel, Going Solo, both stories about Roald Dahl’s life.  I’m looking forward to both…  I love anything written by Roald Dahl!

9.  Going Solo– by Roald Dahl.    This is the sequel to Boy by Roald Dahl (see #8 above).

10.  Essentials For Life For Women; Your Back-to-Basics Guide to Simplifying Life and Embracing What Matters Most by Marcia Ford.  I stumbled across this book in the Christian living section of a book store.  I’m reading a little of it each night.  It’s a quick and easy read with many good quotes, especially quotes from the bible.  It’s a book that is really making me ponder what really matters most in life and how I should live my life every single day.  Glad I stumbled across this one!

What’s on your summer reading list?  I would love to know what you’re reading and if you have any recommendations.  Happy reading and have a great summer!!

Gail ♥

  

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Summer Reading List

  1. Cassie says:

    I LOVE Roald Dahl – you’re going to love every book on the list you have by him. Also, I am so looking forward to reading The Language of Flowers. I see it everywhere and have meant to buy it so many times. Maybe I will today because this post has inspired me. : ) Hope you enjoy your summer and your summer reading!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for stopping by to comment Cassie! I’ve never read anything by Roald Dahl that I didn’t just love. Can’t wait to read the two by him. I’ll be starting The Language of Flowers next! Happy summer reading to you!

      • Cassie says:

        I will have to come back and see what you thought. The back of book blurb always catches me because I’m interested in what flowers mean. The back says, “this is for saying you’re welcome…this is for someone who’s sick.” Not exactly like that, but similar and I just love that flowers can express all of that. The language just sounds beautiful.

  2. Gail says:

    Cassie, I laughed when I looked in the back of the book and realized that yellow roses meant infidelity! Yellow roses are my favorite flower and of course I had them at my wedding. My bouquet had yellow roses, our wedding cake had yellow roses, the ushers, my dad, and my hubby-to-be wore yellow rose boutonnieres! We had a good laugh over that!

  3. Such a great list my friend. I bet your Summer is full of amazing adventures. Book wise, I’m still into reading kids books for my son. The rest I’d been watching my favorite t.v. series in between work, family stuff and Summer outdoor adventures. Busy Bee as ever. Take care and God bless you and your family.

    • Gail says:

      Enjoy these times of reading kids books to your son! I miss those days more than anyone will ever know. I have such happy memories of lying on the bed between my little ones and reading books. Those are times I will always treasure!! Hope the rest of your summer is great!

Leave a Reply

