Monday’s Question

Question:  How will you be spending Independence Day?  Does your family have any special traditions?

My Answer:  Our family along with my sisters and their families and my in-laws will be getting together for our annual Fourth of July potluck barbecue picnic.  I usually host but with my recent surgery, I wasn’t feeling quite up to it this year, so my sister will be hosting at her house this year.  Everyone brings a dish and there’s always plenty of food…. way too much food!  It is our tradition to have red white and blue jello cups and homemade ice cream every year.   This year hubby is making vanilla ice cream and also peach ice cream.  Have I mentioned he makes the BEST homemade ice cream ever?  My nephews usually shoot off fireworks after we eat.  The cousins have also been known to have a water balloon fight on this holiday.  I think the high is supposed to be 101 this year on the 4th so it’s going to be a hot one!  I like to decorate my house on this patriotic holiday so you’ll see lots of red white and blue around here.

How are you planning to celebrate July 4th this year?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Monday's Question and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday’s Question

  1. timzauto says:

    Nothing special …love your jello cups ..

  2. Jane says:

    Jim and I have been “dog/house” sitting for our daughter in Miami the last two or three years, but this year we are home, so we will just grill and watch fireworks on the TV. Boring!!! I do hang our flags out from Veterans day until Labor day.

  3. Gail says:

    I’m hoping we can see the Providence fireworks from Paula’s house. Also hoping we don’t all melt this year! Happy Fourth to you and Jim!

  4. Wendy says:

    We don’t have any special traditions that we do every year but we often go to fireworks with friends. This year we are planning on swimming at some friends’ pool in the afternoon and then having a cookout with some other friends, followed by fireworks in a nearby town that is suppose to have good fireworks.

  5. Gail, you have the most wonderful way of celebrating this special event. It is about families having a great time over food, fireworks and more importantly, the gift of each other. I bet your hubby’s homemade ice cream was amazingly delicious. I’m planning to buy an ice cream maker so I can make healthier ice cream for my family . Any suggestions of what ice cream maker brand that works well and last longer? Happy 4th July and wishing you and your family all the best.

  6. Gail says:

    I hope you and your family had a great 4th of July as well. My husband’s homemade ice cream did not disappoint this year either! We just finished it all up a day or so ago. We have been married almost 27 years and are on our 2nd ice cream maker. I believe our first was a Sunbeam and had a wooden bucket. The bucket ended up wearing out and splitting and so we had to buy our 2nd ice cream maker, which was a Rival. Both made terrific ice cream!

Leave a Reply

