College Fall Care Package Ideas

This week I sent off two fall care packages to my two sons who are both in college– one who is in graduate school, and one who is a sophomore.  I’ve done this ritual (this sending of fall care packages) since my oldest son started college 5 years ago.  It gives them a little taste of home and can help lift moods when one is bogged down in studying for exams.

I remember when I was in college and how it felt to receive mail.  Just getting a card or note from a family member or friend was wonderful, and receiving a package from home was heaven.

What do you send in a fall care package to college-aged boys?  Lots of things!  I get letters with an order form every year about buying care packages from the university to send my college students around final exam time.  They have a variety to choose from and all you do is fill out an order form choosing which care package you want, and they do all the rest.  There are fruit care packages, candy care packages, hot beverage care packages, snack care packages, and some with combinations of all.  I think this is a great idea and I’m sure their packages are more pleasing to the eye than mine (I just send mine in cardboard boxes) but I enjoy making my own and I think I can also do it a little cheaper as well as personalize it a little more.  I asked each of my sons what their favorite things to receive were and their answers were pretty much the same.  Both said they liked getting homemade goodies the best.  Things like homemade cookies, brownies, and muffins topped their list.  They also both agreed that I could never go wrong sending rolls of quarters (to use on washing machines and dryers).  I had intended to take pictures as I was packing but got too involved with how I was packing and going to send the packages that I totally forgot to take any pictures for this blog.  Oh well, maybe next time I’ll take actual pictures of the items and the care package after it’s packed!  I usually try to send a spring care package too.

Here’s a list of what I sent in last weeks care packages or fall care packages in the past:

  1. Muffins–  My oldest son has his mother’s pumpkin loving genes, so pumpkin muffins in the fall are always a favorite of his.  I save my plastic muffin containers from muffins I buy at Publix or Kroger’s and they are perfect to send muffins in.  My youngest son loves blueberry muffins, so this package contained homemade blueberry muffins for him.

2.  Brownies–  I’ve tried making homemade brownies in the past but I’ve decided nothing homemade I make tastes as good as Betty Crocker’s Triple Chunk brownies.  So that’s what I bake and send.  It’s our family’s favorite!

3.   Chocolate Graham Squares– both my kids love these.  And so easy to make!  See the recipe here.

4.  Russian Tea Mix (spice tea)–  My oldest son likes drinking this in the winter time.  It’s easy to make and I mix it up and put it in a small jar or plastic container.  See the recipe for the mix here. 

5.  Carnation Instant Breakfast variety pack

6.  A variety of Halloween Candy

  

7.  Halloween cups– I bought one package of orange cups and one package of black cups this year, and divided them between the two sons.

 

8.  Halloween plates and napkins

 

9.  Halloween decorations for their dorm rooms– I bought a few rubber rats at Dollar General one year and they are a big hit with my sons and their roommates.  They take turns surprising the other roommates with these rats, which are known to show up in the shower, in the refrigerator, freezer, bathroom, in roommates beds, etc.

    

10.  Halloween boxer shorts

 

11.  Halloween Kitchen towels

12.  Halloween lights– I sent each son an orange sphere light for their rooms this year.  I found these in purple and orange at Target.  My youngest son called after receiving his care package yesterday and said he had hung his sphere light up in the commons room in their suite.  My oldest son also likes to put rope lights up in his room.

   

13.  Quarter rolls– As my sons said, you can never go wrong with quarter rolls with college students.

14.  Hot chocolate packets or hot cider

  

15.  Peanuts

These are just a few ideas for fall college care packages.  Happy Fall!

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Autumn, College, Seasons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to College Fall Care Package Ideas

  1. Care packages are such a great way to send some love. It’s a fantastic surprise to receive in the mail, and it can turn even the worst of days into something good. These ideas are perfect. I love the Russian tea mix recipe, by the way. I am going to try and make it soon. Thanks for the suggestions.

  2. Ash says:

    Yum!! Happy fall to you as well 🙂 The care package concept sounds interesting

  3. Kaitlyn R. says:

    Getting packages is probably one of the best things about college! Berea also sent my mom the order form for “Finals Care Packages,” but she made me one for much cheaper (and more personalized!). I love all of your ideas! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Stat Connection | Moonlight Reflections

Leave a Reply

