Daily Prompt: 32 Flavors

Today’s daily prompt reads:

Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

I am going to assume we are speaking of ice cream here.  Ahhhh…. ice cream.  The thing I love but don’t eat much at all anymore.  My doctor and a nutritionist both told me years ago to stay away from ice cream and doughnuts (since I’m constantly struggling with weight loss).  How ironic that their offices sit next to each other with only a Krispy Kreme between them. 

Every fourth of July my hubby makes homemade ice cream.  He makes the best I’ve ever tasted.  He’ll usually make two batches– one batch of vanilla and then a batch of either peach, strawberry, banana, or chocolate.  It’s a special treat for a special holiday.  I also treat myself to a bowl (or 2 or 3) of ice cream at Christmas time.  That’s because I absolutely LOVE Purity’s Holiday Peppermint ice cream.  So yummy.

holiday peppermint ice cream

But as far as the question….. vanilla or chocolate?  I love them both but tend to lean a little towards vanilla.  One thing I do know is that I can never make myself walk into an ice cream shop with 32 flavors and order only vanilla or chocolate (even though I like them both).  WAY too boring for me. I feel I must be daring in these ice cream stores.

When I was a kid, my friends and I used to walk to the corner shopping strip mall which contained an ice cream shop called Dipper Dan’s.  It was pure heaven for a kid.  We would walk up and down, up and down the rows of ice cream, peering through the glass to see what looked good.  Sometimes, it took a while to make up our minds.  Big decisions we had to make back then, ya know.  My friend and I used to always get a double cone (or sometimes a triple if the mood hit us).  It seems we always had very strange combinations– like the time my friend got one scoop of pink lemonade and one scoop of chocolate.  And the time I got one scoop of mint chocolate chip and one scoop of black cherry.

I always liked the flavors that disgusted others…. like licorice ice cream, and pumpkin.  My dad and I shared the same tastes in ice cream (licorice was a favorite of his).  I remember the black tongue I would have after eating the licorice ice cream.  I remember the pink lemonade and the bubble gum were also favorites.

Fun memories.  I miss that Dipper Dan’s.

What about you?  Do you prefer vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

 

coneline

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daily Prompt: 32 Flavors

  1. mama2cj says:

    I feel the same way about walking into an ice cream shop. So many choices! But mine always has some form of chocolate. If not the ice cream itself, then something in it.

  2. Licorice ice cream sounds really interesting, I might try that one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

