Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

While I had hoped to be able to do the wordpress daily prompts every single day, I now realize this is not going to be possible.  Life gets in the way of being able to blog daily, and this week, it got in the way BIG TIME.  I have not participated in the past 5 prompts.  Sometimes things happen and catastrophes hit.  (I’ll write about our latest catastrophe in a future post).  I’ve read the prompts every day though and I’ve realized I won’t take part in every single prompt because some of the prompts leave me at a total loss for words.   Today’s daily prompt is one of those I didn’t think I would be able to participate in.  To be honest, I almost skipped it.  Today’s prompt says:

Most of us are excellent at being self-deprecating, and are not so good at the opposite. Tell us your favorite thing about yourself.

Oh boy…. that is true.  Most of us ARE good at self-deprecating and I’m no exception.  I’m a real pro at belittling myself, undervaluing myself, and being excessively modest.  I guess I was brought up to believe that tooting my horn is something I should not do.  I can think of people I have known over the years who go around tooting their own horn and in some ways it’s a turn-off for me, like they’re bragging (and some are and maybe that’s the turn-off).

I think we’re all given gifts and we’re put on this earth to share those gifts with others.  Some of us figure out what those gifts are sooner than others do.  So WHY did I find this prompt so difficult to take part in?  I could find a million things about myself that I don’t like and write post after post about those.  But when it came down to writing about something I like about myself, I struggled in a big way.  And that made me sad.  Really.  Not being able to easily say what I like about myself made me realize I have a lot of work to do.  I still struggle with trying to figure out what my “gifts” are, what my purpose in life really is.

So I was determined to come up with some things I liked about myself.  After thinking long and hard (most of the day really),  I finally decided the thing I like most about myself is my sincerity.  I’m always myself and I never try to be anyone I’m not.  I’m not fake.  What you see is what you get.  And I think that right there is one of the reasons I deleted my Facebook account.  I was tired of the insincerity on there and people trying to come across as being someone entirely different from who they really are.  That, and the constant bickering and bullying on there.  I’m sorry, but insincere people are a real turn-off to me.

I also like my determination.  I usually work hard towards a goal I have set for myself and I try hard to reach that goal.  I don’t give up easily, yet I think I have a pretty good sense for knowing WHEN I’ve had enough.

knowing when you've had enough

I also think I’ve been a pretty good mother to my two sons.  I wasn’t a perfect mother (no one is) but I tried to always do my best.  Are there things about parenting and being a mother that I wish I could have done differently?  YOU BET!  Hindsight is always 20/20.  But overall, when I look at how my sons have turned out and who they are becoming, I like what I see.  They are both in college, working hard on achieving their goals, and are intelligent, honest, nice young men.

The problem with being a parent is that by the time you’re experienced, you’re out of work.  ~Wayne Rice 

So while I moaned and groaned when I saw this prompt, I’m thankful to wordpress for making me do some heavy-duty deep thinking today.  I have to admit– this prompt was good for me.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Toot Your Horn

  1. Those are things about yourself to be really proud of, Gail.

  2. enitsirk24 says:

    I had the same daily blogging intentions but some days, 24 hours are not enough for me. I should have time to catch up over the weekend; however, I feel the same that not all topics spark thoughts. You come across as sincere…what an awesome trait to own!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks for the nice words. I agree– 24 hours is not enough for me either. I’m not sure I have the time it would take to post every day. I think right now, spending that much time at the computer is something I can’t afford to do. I do enjoy reading what others are doing with these prompts and reading those takes time too! Guess I need to find a good balance! Thanks for reading!

  3. I loved the quote about the difference between giving up and knowing your limits. Great post!

    http://wileyschmidt.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/today-im-a-trombone-player/

Leave a Reply

