Daily Prompt: Through the Window

Today’s daily prompt:

Go to the nearest window. Look out for a full minute. Write about what you saw.

This afternoon, I stood at my bedroom window and looked out for one minute.  It was a very gray and dreary day.  The tall pines at the back of our property line were swaying in the gentle wind.  I have a perfect view of our backyard and “new” sink hole from the bedroom window– a view I don’t care for.  The wind blows the bright yellow caution tape my husband strung up around metal green stakes surrounding the monster hole and the caution tape vibrates.   I wonder what tonight and tomorrow’s weather will do to this sinkhole.  We have severe thunderstorms moving towards us from the west and we are supposed to get heavy rains and hail.  How much bigger will this sinkhole become?  I would be lying if I said it wasn’t causing me some anxiety.  We also have the possibility of tornadoes forming with this storm.

I see a couple of squirrels scamper across the yard chasing each other.  They scurry up a tree.  Our backyard lately has been full of robins for some reason.  These robins have flown into the windows in the back of the house almost every day.  We hear their crashes and see orange down feathers flying.  I’ve found a couple of them dead on the driveway– their beaks bloody and their necks broken.  I don’t know why all of a sudden they are doing this.  This afternoon, I didn’t see one single robin.  That’s very strange.

I see my sons’ basketball goal sitting behind the edge of the driveway.  It doesn’t get used now that my sons are in college.  It looks lonely.

I look up behind our yard and up the hill at the houses that sit up above us. There is no sign of life or activity at any of them.  It’s a very quiet day.

I’m ready for some sunshine.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: Through the Window

  1. determined34 says:

    Thank you for a glimpse into your world. 😉

  2. enitsirk24 says:

    What is up with the Robins? Nature make me sad sometimes.

    • Gail says:

      I wish I knew! Our neighborhood has been full of robins for weeks! A few weeks ago, everytime we would drive up the street, they would all be in the road and they would scatter. One morning our yard had about a hundred of them. I’ve never seen so many. And why they have started flying into our windows is beyond me. My husband and I call them our kamikaze robins. It is very sad.

  3. Amba Nair says:

    The thought of the basketball hoop sitting there, lonely, waiting for your sons, sounded a lot like a parallel for a mother’s longing. This post was beautiful in it’s simplicity, Gail 🙂

  4. Gail says:

    Thank you so much. I guess I am longing for my sons.

  5. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

Leave a Reply

