Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

Today’s daily prompt: Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

Easy one.  My answer would be a buzzing nuisance.  I feel so far out in left field on this answer after reading how others are answering this prompt and seeing the attachment so many people have to their phones.  I guess I’m showing my age here a little with my answer but allow me to step up on my soapbox.

My husband and I kid each other constantly about the way we both “live in the stone age.”  Just call us Fred and Wilma Flintstone, thank you very much.  We were probably the last couple on the planet who finally gave in and bought cell phones.  And we only did that when our oldest teenage son began dating and missed a curfew and we panicked.  He hadn’t had his driver’s license very long at all and we started envisioning the worst.  We couldn’t reach him, and he couldn’t get to us.  Turns out he was in gridlocked traffic near a very popular mall at Christmas time and was fine.  We bought cell phones after that.

My husband and I tend to look at cell phones as something to use in an emergency only.  We don’t have texting capabilities.  We still use a cheap flip phone and people laugh at it when they see it.  See, I told you we live in the stone age.  Our sons do have texting but that’s only because that’s how universities get messages to college students these days.  After a shooting on my son’s college campus 3 years ago and then a tornado wreaking havoc soon after that, we realized how vitally important texting is during university emergencies and we got texting for our sons.  We decided it’s a good thing that our sons know pretty quickly if a tornado is heading in their direction or there’s a mad lunatic on campus with a gun.  But as for me and my husband, we’ve never sent a text in our lives and wouldn’t even know HOW to send one.  And I can say in all honestly, I don’t care to learn.  It seems these days, young people don’t use phones for talking. My sons go to the same college and occasionally when I talk to one of them, I’ll say, “Have you talked to your brother lately?” Usually, the answer I get is, “I got a text from him,” or “No, but I sent him a text.” Why don’t people talk to each other anymore?  I don’t think it will be long though before we’ll ALL be forced to text.

Once my husband and I went out to eat at a fairly nice restaurant.  A young, nice looking couple sat in front of us at a booth.  It appeared they were out on a date.   In the 45 minutes to an hour that we were there, I never saw this couple speak a word to each other.  In fact, I never saw them even look at each other.  Both sat across from each other, each staring down at their phones, madly punching away.  For all I know, they were texting each other.  They ate in silence while staring at their phones.  Finally, one of them said, “You ready to go?”  And they got up and left.  Something about that was more than sad to me.

I do enjoy having a cell phone so that I can occasionally talk to my sons when they are away at school.  And they’re good in case of an emergency should your car happen to break down.  But I can’t stand to see people who can’t even put their phone down long enough to shop in the grocery store.  I don’t like hearing people’s personal phone calls when I’m sitting in a doctor’s waiting room.  I’ll never get families who text each other from the next room.  Will humans even have a need for a mouth in a few thousand years?  And don’t EVEN get me started on driving and texting or for that matter, driving while talking on a cell phone!  I worry about people who become too dependant on their phones.  I’m sorry, but I just don’t think it’s healthy.  Oh, and I was totally blown away when a friend of mine who is the office manager for her and her husband’s veterinary clinic, told me a story that happened about three years ago (when texting was really getting popular).  She was interviewing a teenager for employment at the veterinary clinic and the young girl never put her phone down during the interview and proceeded to text throughout the whole interview!  Texted. During. The. Interview.  I couldn’t believe it.  My friend told me needless to say, she didn’t get the job.  The girl’s dad was sitting out in the waiting room and my friend almost told him before they left that he would be doing his daughter a great favor by sitting her down and having a talk with her and tell her that she MIGHT want to put down her phone when she’s interviewing with someone face to face!

I think people spend WAY too much money on all these high-tech  phones with all the fancy apps.  I see people who can barely pay their bills and who can’t afford groceries, but you can bet they have the most expensive phone available.  I just don’t get that.  I guess I don’t look at all these fancy phones as necessities, but luxuries, and I say this knowing I’m in the minority in my way of thinking.

If I’m at home, most people know to call me on my landline.  I don’t talk on my cell phone when I’m at home, unless it’s with my teenage sons.  Due to the number of telemarketers who don’t abide by the National Do Not Call Registry, I don’t pick up my landline if I don’t recognize the number.

I could go on and on but I’ll stop here.  If you made it to the end of this, I thank you.

Gail♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe

  1. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Amba says:

    Wilma Flintstone! i envy you! I truly wish I had never been sucked into this smart phone black hole. It has intruded my privacy until there was none left. The worst part is, I’m the only one to blame. LOL! On another note, you sound exactly like my mum. My mum thinks that phones are for talking and NOT texting and God knows what else. The only time she texts my brother and me , is when it’s from dad’s phone and she happens to be nearby 🙂

    • Gail says:

      I guess it makes a big difference in what generation you grew up in. I’m sort of in that generation where I feel like I’m just too old to be learning about all this stuff. Technology is just way beyond me now. I long for the days when things were simpler. It’s scary to even think about what technology is going to bring us in another 20 years.

  5. Cell phones is one of those modern things I’ve had to get used to. I reckon that is why I ignore mine so often too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

