Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment

Today’s daily promptYou have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

I think the answer to this depends on what type of skill I am learning.  I’ll answer this prompt as it pertains to my profession which is veterinary medicine.  Although, I’m not currently practicing, I’m still always learning.  I keep my continuing education hours up to date and try to stay abreast of new changes in the profession.  In veterinary medicine, there is always something new to learn.

Take for an example, surgery.  I like to use all of the above when learning a new surgery or a new surgical technique or skill.  I like to read/study what I’m learning about in a surgical text first to gain an overall understanding of the procedure. Then it always helps me to watch someone else perform the surgery, whether that is via a video or watching the actual surgery being performed.  But I always learn best when I can actually perform that surgery myself.  On my own.

And that’s how it was in veterinary school.  The students read and study from a text or a set of lecture notes, they often observe a veterinarian performing the surgery (sometimes it’s video, sometimes real life), then lastly, they get to perform the surgery themselves.  I think in this instance, and especially for me, it takes all those steps for me to learn best.

Gail ♥

 

 

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teachable Moment … teach them well. | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Teachable Moment – You need schooling son/sister, step into my office! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: How Will I Know? – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

