Daily Prompt: Whoa!

Today’s daily prompt:  What’s the most surreal experience you’ve ever had?

I immediately had an answer to this prompt as soon as I read it.  But writing about it is a different thing altogether.  The truth?  I’ve told very few people about my surreal experience.  It was a transcendental experience and it happened right after my mother’s funeral.  It is very hard to talk about because there are NO words to describe it.  My fear in telling people about it is that they will think I am crazy or tell me it was a dream.  It wasn’t.  I’m very sure of that.  My experience was very personal and very real and I just don’t think I’m quite ready to share it with the world.  It was my one and only surreal experience.  I’ll sum it up by saying, it was very comforting to me and I think it happened because God truly DOES comfort and bless those who mourn.

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.  Matthew 5:4

I did have something happen in church several weeks ago that seemed a little surreal.  I attend an early service that starts at 8 am.  There are two stained glass windows up high on the side walls behind our altar.  Midway through the service, sometimes the sun starts shining brightly through those stain glass windows and hits me right in the face.  The light can be very white and blinding.  Anyone who has sat in “my pew” and who has experienced that light can testify to that.  In fact, I think that was the main purpose in putting stained glass on those windows– to tone the brightness down a little.

On this particular Sunday morning, the Lay reader was up at the podium reading the Old Testament reading and all of a sudden the light from the window came down on her.  There were these glorious colored light rays shining out from a central area of light and they were completely surrounding her.  Just her.  I had never witnessed anything like it in all the many, many years I have attended this church.  It was beautiful and moving.  I was in awe.  It lasted only a minute.  The odd thing about it was that at coffee hour after the service, I didn’t hear a single person comment that they had seen what I had seen.  I’m pretty sure God had a hand in that spectacular light show.

rays of light

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Whoa!

  1. seeker says:

    Translating that to what I know it’s called Aura. You can see the Aura of the person, but the rest of the congregation.

  2. Gail says:

    I have heard my priest say on more than one occasion that she has witnessed a sort of light or “aura” around people sometimes as they are making their way to the communion rails on Sunday. I found that interesting.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Whoa! – Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Give The Lad An Oscar” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Whoa! … Pope Benedict XVI (Ret.) not RIP | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  5. Pingback: AGAIN… « hastywords

  6. Pingback: In the Face of Fire « Cheri Speak

Leave a Reply

