Daily Prompt: Undo

Today’s daily prompt:  If you could un-invent something, what would it be? Discuss why, potential repercussions, or a possible alternative.

I’m afraid my answer to this prompt won’t be too popular but here goes anyway.  I would un-invent alcoholic beverages.  Alcohol causes too much pain and heartache in this world.  I’ve lost loved ones due to alcohol and in my opinion, one death to alcohol is one death too many.  I’ve seen it destroy people and families. It’s sad and tragic really.  And senseless. 

say-no-to-alcohol-sign

This prompt also asks what the repercussions would be.

Less health problems

  • less liver disease such as liver cancer, and cirrhosis
  • less heart disease/high blood pressure
  • less cancer– cancer of the mouth, larynx, esophagus, colon, breast and liver
  • less depression– alcohol is a depressant
  • less pancreatitis
  • less dementia
  • less nerve problems
  • less impotence in men

Less social problems

  • less domestic abuse
  • less child abuse
  • less divorce
  • less job loss
  • less loss of friendship

Less financial problems

  • alcohol is expensive.  Alcohol abusers have less money to pay for necessities
  • alcohol abusers/alcoholics often neglect to pay their bills
  • alcohol abusers/alcoholics often are unable to keep steady employment

Less alcohol related driving deaths

According to the CDC website:

In 2010, 10,228 people were killed in alcohol-impaired driving crashes, accounting for nearly one-third (31%) of all traffic-related deaths in the United States. 

US adults drank too much and got behind the wheel about 112 million times in 2010. Alcohol-impaired drivers* are involved in about 1 in 3 crash deaths, resulting in over 10,000 deaths in 2010.

*These drivers had blood alcohol concentrations of at least 0.08%. This is the illegal blood alcohol concentration level for adult drivers in the United States.

I think the world would be a lot better place if there were no alcohol.  I wish it didn’t exist. 

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Daily Prompt: Undo

  1. I approve of this undo…..alcohol is like any drug….it addicting and can ruin lives

  2. Gail says:

    Thanks. I’m glad you approve. I was hesitant to post this for fear that I would get some snarky comments. Yes, alcohol is addicting and does ruin A LOT of lives.

  3. Pingback: 5 Things I Would UNinvent « Cheri Speak

  4. Carol O. says:

    Wow, you’ve really given this a lot of thought (and it’s well written!) I must say, I agree totally.

    • Gail says:

      Thanks Carol. I’m glad you agree. I once went to a funeral of a 15 year old daughter of friends of mine who was tragically killed by a drunk driver. She, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend’s mother were killed instantly when this 19 year old drunk teenager chose to drink to drunkedness and then get behind the wheel of his car. He ran a red light and slammed into the side of their car, killing all three of them. I hope I never have to attend another funeral like that again. It was horrible. He spent just a few years in jail for vehicular homicide. What’s ironic is that he has driven drunk again and wrecked several more times since getting out. Apparently, killing three people didn’t faze him. It makes me sick to my stomach to think about it.

  5. 100% with you. But evil with invent it later 🙂

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Undo | Joe's Musings

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo – Rock & Roll It All the Way Back (An Online Mini-Musical) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Undo OR The Right To Live | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

