Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories

Today’s daily prompt:  What was your favorite book as a child? Did it influence the person you are now?

I think I’ve written a post about this in the past but I’ll tell the story again.  Without a doubt, my favorite book as a child was Little Bear by Else Holmelund Minarik.

little-bear-cover

I remember this being the very first book I checked out of the library when I was in the first grade.  I remember taking it home and my mother reading it to me.  I remember loving the stories.  I remember learning to read this book all by myself.  I loved Little Bear and his sweet gentle nature, I loved all his friends in the stories, and I loved Little Bear’s parents.  The relationship Little Bear had with his mother was such a loving one and even as a six-year-old girl, it warmed my heart.

I checked Little Bear out week after week at the library.  I read it over and over.  I imagined being Little Bear and how much fun it would be to have his adventures.  One night the librarian from the elementary school called my mother.  She told her she might want to have a talk with me about broadening my reading horizons.  She told her the only book I insisted on checking out week after week was Little Bear and while she was happy I loved the book, she felt I needed to move on (not to mention other children might want to check out Little Bear).  So my mother had a talk with me and I began checking out other books.  Still, every now and then, I would go to the section where Little Bear was and I would pick it up and thumb through it, looking at the pictures.  How I missed my little friend!!

Little Bear is the first of five classic books in the Little Bear series.  I read them all.  When I had children of my own, I bought the series for them and we read them aloud together. They are designed for beginner readers (ages 4-8).  Even though my sons are now in college, I still have the series.  They’re keepers for sure.  They’re the kind of stories that will stay with me always.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Bedtime Stories

  1. Pingback: Confessions of an Addict | So I Went Undercover

  2. Pingback: I Didn’t Like To Read Until… | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Blue Moon | Paul Scribbles

  4. Pingback: ZOMBIE WITHOUT | hastywords

  5. Pingback: NIGHTY NIGHT….LITTLE GIRL | hastywords

Leave a Reply

