Sometimes I Just Feel Like Reading Children’s Books

I just finished reading Growing as a Christian 101: A Guide to Stronger Faith in Plain Language by Bruce Bickel and Stan Jantz.  It was an easy read and one that I enjoyed very much.  I like books that are practical and in plain language and this one met both of those criteria.

growing-as-a-christian-101

I have to admit though, as a perfectionist, that self-help books sometimes wear me out.  I think a lot of self-help books set us up for failure before we ever open the front cover because they are so chock full of suggestions and “things” for us to do that it would take a superhero to be able to carry out all the “suggestions”  or “recommendations” they give.  I’ve read self-help books where it would be humanly impossible to do all the things listed that it tells one they must do to accomplish X.  Sometimes I’m overwhelmed by the 2nd or 3rd chapter.  And as a perfectionist, I often feel that I HAVE to do every single thing in the book to get the most out of it.  I’ve learned that’s usually impossible.  So I’ve failed before I’ve barely started and if by chance I do finish the book, I’m left at the end feeling mentally exhausted.

While I loved this book and it didn’t leave me feeling like a failure and exhausted like most self-help books do, I still feel I’m suffering a bit from information overload and still left trying to absorb what I read.  I made a rule a long time ago never to read two self-help books in a row.  My brain couldn’t take it, nor could my self-esteem!

I decided that I would treat myself to a refreshing break and I would re-read a favorite children’s book.  I scanned my book shelves today and decided on Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.  I was first introduced to Charlotte’s Web by my third grade teacher.  I remember every day after our lunch period, she would sit in a wooden chair in front of the black board and we would gather around her in a semi-circle on the floor in front of her while she read aloud Charlotte’s Web.  This book mesmerized me.  I loved it.  I remember reading this beloved children’s classic  to my two young sons for one of their bedtime stories.

I’m so looking forward to reading this book again.

charlottes-web-cover_240

Just out of curiosity, how many of you adults still read children’s books?  I think it’s good for one’s soul, not to mention it’s just downright fun.   If you had to choose a children’s book to read now, what would you choose?

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

