Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

don-t-judge-a-book-by-its-cover_design

Today’s daily prompt:  If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

There is just no way I can pick just one favorite book.  Impossible.  Here’s just four of my favorites and the covers that are on them:

1.  The Help– by Kathryn Stockett

thehelp

While I like this book cover, it doesn’t tell me a lot about what the book is about.  So would I read this book based just on the cover?  Probably not.  I had already heard how great this book was and I always read the back cover description to make my decision.  It didn’t disappoint!  Loved it.

2. Life of Pi– by Yann Martel

Life of Pi

I have to say, this cover sparked my interest and made me want to read this book even more.  Would I read this book based on its cover alone?  Yes I would.  How can you look at this book cover and NOT be curious?  One of my favorite books and favorite covers for sure!

3.  The Old Man and the Sea– by Ernest Hemingway

old-man-and-the-sea-book

Had I not known a thing about this book before seeing the cover, I would have definitely wanted to read it based on the cover alone.  A great cover and a great book.

4.  Cutting for Stone– by Abraham Verghese

cutting-for-stone

An interesting cover I guess but it didn’t really tell me a lot about this book or what it was really about.  I read this book in a book club I was in and it was one of the best books I have read in a while.  I fell in love with the characters and I was left longing to know more about them when the book ended.  Would I have bought this book based on the cover alone?  Probably not.  I think the cover could have been better.  And the title of the book had me intrigued and a little confused at the same time I guess (it’s all explained in the book).  After reading the book, I realized what a truly great title it had.  To be honest, I wasn’t sure I would like this book even after reading its description.  But… I loved it and  it’s a perfect example of why you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

  1. Pingback: Sometimes A Picture Or Book Cover Is Worth Three Words – “Not For Me” | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Duncton Wood | paul scribbles

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Joe's Musings

  4. Island Traveler says:

    Great series of priceless books. Your passion for each one inspires me to read them all. Thanks.

    • Gail says:

      All four of them are books I would read again in a heartbeat! I just watched the Life of Pi movie tonight. It was my 3rd time to see it. Love it too!

  5. Pingback: On judging book by it’s cover | Bullets & Dreams

Leave a Reply

