Daily Prompt: Turn, Turn, Turn

Today’s daily prompt:  For many of us, winter is blooming into spring, or fall hardening into winter. Which season do you most look forward to?

MH900402356

First, I will say I’m very grateful to live in an area where I get to experience all four seasons of spring, summer, fall, and winter.  I know not everyone has that privilege and opportunity.

I enjoy certain things about all the seasons.  Each carries beauty in its own unique way. Here in the southeast US, our climate has changed.  I’ve lived here all my life and we clearly used to have colder winters and more snow in the winter.  I have very happy memories of playing in snow when I was a child– deep snow– and getting out of school for a week or more at a time.  The kids in our neighborhood had great fun sled riding for hours at a time, building snow forts and snow igloos, building snowmen and having snowball fights.  My kids missed out on most of that.  Now we just don’t get snow here. What we get is usually just a few snow flurries or just a light dusting which isn’t usually even enough to cover the ground.  Winter totally eluded us this year.  I don’t recall even wearing a winter coat this year.  Actually I can’t remember the last time I wore a winter coat.  It all makes me sad because I love snow.  Always have, always will.  Watching snow fall and looking at a beautiful snowy, white winter landscape brings me a very peaceful feeling.

We are now in the midst of spring in these parts and I’ve gone straight from using the heater in the car to using the air conditioner.  While I love the beauty and the colorful season of spring, I don’t care much for what comes after spring.  Summer.  Very hot summers.  I know summer is a lot of people’s favorite season, but I just find our summers hard to enjoy.  They’re not only terribly hot, but they’re very humid as well.  July and August are unbearable to me.  I can’t enjoy being outside when the heat index is 100+ degrees and it’s so hot that it’s hard to breathe and just walking to the mailbox makes you drenched in sweat.  Just trying to get a daily walk in can put you in jeopardy of heatstroke.  I just don’t remember summers being so hot when I was a kid.  We played outside from dawn until dusk until our parents were hollering at us to come inside for the evening.

MH900445772

Today I found the first red wasp of the season in the house.  Not a good thing for me because I know that means the next two weeks are going to be filled with sheer terror and panic for me.  For those of you who don’t know, I’m terrified of red wasps (my one true phobia I do believe– you can read about it here).  For some reason, every early spring, they get confused and want to come inside my house and they invade my basement.  I so dread this time of year every single year.  I think I’d cope better if I had a house full of snakes or spiders!  My cat is even scared of the red wasps now because last year he was popped by one on the nose as he was minding his own business napping in the recliner.  It was months before he would even get in that recliner again.  So yes, it is because of the red wasps that I am not a fan of spring.  I do enjoy the spring flowers, the beautiful flowering trees and things like getting to sleep with the windows open.  But I’m sorry to say the darn wasps just ruin it for me.  I’m much more of a fall person and I long for the cold and snowy winters we used to have here in the southeast.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in fall, Seasons, Spring, summer, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt: Turn, Turn, Turn

  1. Pingback: Les Boise Lumineux, Idaho | The Jittery Goat

  2. carolofthebells says:

    A lovely reflection.

Leave a Reply

