Daily Prompt: Why I Blog

I’ve been lax about reading the daily prompts, much less participating in them lately. Today I’m going back and answering a few I liked.  Here’s one from last week.

Daily prompt:  Why do you blog?

MH900442488

I’ve always enjoyed writing.  English was always my favorite subject in school (but admittedly, not always my best subject).  I started keeping a diary when I was 12 years old, kept that up for years, and always enjoyed doing that.  I grew up in a neighborhood full of girls and that was one of the things I remember was “popular” to do.  Keep a diary. Sometimes we would get together and write our entries together and sometimes we would share!  That takes a lot of courage to hand over your diary to your girlfriend (or your sister even) to let her read your most private thoughts.  We were silly sometimes.  I kept a dairy for many years– until I went to veterinary school and just plain and simply didn’t have the time to journal anymore.

I was on Facebook for a few years.  At first I enjoyed it and found it addicting.  I was grateful for Facebook connecting me with old friends from high school who I had lost touch with.  I was grateful for Facebook for allowing me to get to know people better that I was only slightly acquainted with in high school and college.  I enjoyed seeing pictures of my friends and their families.  But Facebook changed.  It seemed to me it was fast becoming a platform for people to complain and bully.  This may be a very bold statement, but it seemed to me that people were getting very mean on Facebook.  I saw good Christian people attacking other people.  There were times that I felt a dagger was impaled through my back for simple status updates I made.  I grew weary of the political bashing.  I no longer enjoyed it.  It became too in my face.  People said things to other people on Facebook that I don’t think they would ever have said to them to their face.  I didn’t like what I was seeing.  So I said goodbye to Facebook and I haven’t looked back.  I missed it for a while and sometimes I still feel “out of the loop” but I don’t plan to go back to it.  For now, I’ll stick with blogging.

I enjoy reading other blogs.  I’m constantly amazed at the quality of writing I see.  I’ve met some really nice people through WordPress.  Several people who knew I liked to write, suggested to me that I should start a blog.  I’m not very technologically minded and it wasn’t something I gave much serious thought to at first.  Then I thought, why not?

When I started my blog, I could think of a million things I wanted to write about.  I planned to post every day.  But that didn’t happen.  I still find it hard to sit down and organize all those jumbled thoughts floating around in my brain.  I keep a notebook where I write ideas I want to write about but it’s hard to get going and get those thoughts of mine organized.  To me, that’s the hardest part about blogging.  And I find that life is just too busy to be able to post every day.  I think I read once that to be an effective blogger, one needs to blog 3-5 times a week.  That was my goal.  I don’t always accomplish that.  WANTING to write and actually sitting down and writing are two different things all together.  The WordPress daily prompts help me to write more.

I don’t have a particular focus for my blog.  I write about different things that are of interest to me.  Being an animal lover, I like to share animal stories.  Even though I no longer practice veterinary medicine, I still enjoy writing about it and I enjoy educating people about animals.   Sometimes I share recipes.  Sometimes I write about things I don’t understand.  I use my blog to just think out loud sometimes.  I write about things in my childhood.  I guess it’s a good record for my kids to have.  When I’m long gone from this earth, there will probably be things they wish they knew about their mother or could ask me.  Maybe, just maybe, they will find out some of those answers through this blog.

So why DO I blog?  I have many reasons.  I blog:

  • to express my thoughts and opinions.
  • to connect with other people.
  • because I find writing and therefore blogging challenging.  It makes me think.
  • because I think writing is fun.
  • because I simply ENJOY it. I enjoy connecting with other bloggers and sharing.
  • to share my passion of veterinary medicine.
  • for selfish reasons…. to develop some writing skills.
  • to improve my thinking skills and creativity.
  • to help people.  I did a 10 part series on my mother’s cancer experience and journey (I went along with her on that journey when she was diagnosed with multiple cancers).  I did this series for two reasons:  It was an outlet and it helped me grieve, and I wanted to help others who were going through the same journey.
  • because I think blogging is a better use of my time than spending countless hours on Facebook stalking people.
  • to stay disciplined.  Keeping up a blog and posting blogs does require discipline.  Don’t believe me?  Try it and see.
  • because it’s good therapy for me.  I think there’s sort of a joke in the blogging world that blogging is the cheapest form of therapy.  I laugh at that, but at the same time, I believe it to some degree.  Professional therapy is very expensive.  Blogging can’t always replace that but it is a way of expressing oneself and I just happen to think that can be very therapeutic.
  • to share recipes.
  • to share knowledge about a variety of things.
  • to explore spirituality.
  • to learn.
  • because sometimes I have to rant.  I try not to use my blog to rant and rave about things that upset me, but sometimes it happens.
  • to keep a sort of record for my kids to look back on one day.  There are so many questions I have wanted to ask my parents since they’ve died.  It’s very frustrating not to be able to get the answers I seek.  I may have been able to find the answers to my questions had they recorded more in writing.
  • to inspire others and to get inspired myself.
  • because releasing my thoughts just feels good sometimes.

That folks, is why I blog.  

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Why I Blog

  1. Carol O. says:

    Well, I -for one- am very glad that you blog! I like reading you.

  2. Sound reasons for blogging, and I’m glad you do! I got hooked on blogging faster than I got hooked on Facebook…. but no regrets. I’m starting to go off FB for the intrusive questions it keeps asking me, and the irritating rubbish that I get in my newsfeed. FB’s days may well be numbered as far as I’m concerned…..

    • Gail says:

      Thank you. I’ve been off Facebook now for 8 months (hard for me to believe) and I have no desire to go back. Previous to that, I had deactivated my account twice. One of those times, I just needed a break from it and the other time, I gave it up for Lent. This time, I DELETED my account instead of deactivating it. I was spending way too much time on it and was no longer enjoying it. I needed off. I read just yesterday that many teens are leaving Facebook now for other social media. I found that odd since Facebook originally was for the college crowd. I guess the old folks took it over!

  3. Pingback: Why blog? | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

