Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Daily Prompt:  Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

There are many books I could read over and over.  One in particular that comes to mind is   A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith.

a tree grows in brooklyn

This book speaks to me because it deals with so many common themes of life:  poverty, alcoholism, love, coming of age, family dynamics, determination, etc.  I love all the characters in this book and I can think of people in my life who fit most of the descriptions of the characters in this book.  This was one of my mother’s favorite books of all times and she always tried to get her three daughters to read it when we were teenagers.  Unfortunately I didn’t read it until I was well into my 40s.  I regretted not reading it earlier!  It’s one I’ll read and re-read.  There’s a lot to learn from reading this book.  It has many valuable life lessons.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Books, Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

