Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall

Daily Prompt:  What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

Family photos win out at our house for wall hangings.  My living room has my wedding portrait on the wall as well as a wedding photo of my husband and me.  There are also framed photos of each of my sons as babies and then a framed picture of each son at 2 years of age.  Over my couch is a large oval mirror.

019   018  021

My den is decorated in black bears (long story).  I have black bear paintings and black bear tapestries.  Most of the black bear decor came from Gatlinburg, TN.

015  013

014

My kitchen is all pig decor.  I’ve written several blogs featuring my pig kitchen.  I’ve always loved pigs and I’ve collected them since I was in college.  Most of the framed pig photos in my kitchen came from calendars.

048  047

016

My hallway bathroom is decorated in panda decor (are you starting to see an animal theme here)?

006  007

Family photos win out again for my hallway.  Both sides are full of pictures of my sons when they were babies.

012  010

011

The spare bedroom which is actually the room where we keep the computer and all our bookshelves also contain baby photos of my two sons as well as a few other photos.  One favorite is Norman Rockwell’s “waiting at the vet”.  The other is a very old advertisement of the Carter’s Ink kittens that my mother used to have framed in an old black frame.  She gave me the picture many years ago and I had it matted and re-framed.  I always loved this photo when I was a little girl so it’s very sentimental to me.  Each kitten is a Carter’s Ink color.

025  028

At this time I only have one framed painting on my master bedroom wall (hangs head in shame).  My husband and I did a makeover of this room back in the fall and it is the only photo that has made it back on the wall so far.  I sorta like the walls being bare for a change.  The one painting we have in this room now is a Noah’s Ark painting by artist Arnold McDowell above our bed.  I LOVE IT. I believe it is the only Noah’s Ark print that I’ve seen of Noah and the animals emerging FROM the ark instead of walking into the ark.  It makes it a little different.  I do have some family photos and some Thomas Kincaid prints I want to eventually hang in this room (if I ever get around to it).

010  006

Our master bath is small and has one little framed picture.  I have always loved this picture of a little naked girl enjoying the day with her loyal black dog companion.

029

That’s a sampling of what I hang on the walls in a few rooms in my home.

A house is made of walls and beams; a home is built with love and dreams.

Dr. William A Ward

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall

  1. Carol O. says:

    Lovely!

  2. dmauldin53 says:

    Love the Black Bears! 🙂

    • Gail says:

      Thank you. We love the black bear decor too. Our highlight of going to Gatlinburg and the Smoky Mountains every year used to be watching the black bears. Unfortunately, we don’t see them as much there anymore. Our sons both went to a high school whose mascot was a bear. We were big supporters of “The Bears” and that was just another fun reason we had for doing our den in the a black bear theme! GO BEARS!

Leave a Reply

