Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine

Daily Prompt:    Early bird, or night owl?

1501night_owl_1

Well, my blog name and tagline sorta give the answer to this question away.  I’m a night owl all the way.  Always have been.  Always will be.  I just feel better at night.  I’m definitely not a morning person.  It doesn’t matter how much sleep I get…. it never seems to feel like enough in the morning.  Five hours, eight hours, even twelve hours of sleep and I still feel like a walking zombie in the morning.

When I was a child my parents had a strict bedtime for their three daughters on school nights and I remember always longing to stay up later.  I start coming alive around 10 pm at night and that’s when I get some of my best housework done.  I’ve been known to start a load of laundry that late, clean the kitchen or bathroom, etc.  I also write a lot of my blog posts late at night (or in the wee hours of the morning).  My mother was a night owl too.  Despite my kids having an early enforced bedtime routine when they were young, now that they are both in college, they are night owls too.  I’m convinced it’s in the genes.

I love the quiet, the calm, and peacefulness of the nighttime.

Gail ♥

About Gail

I am a wife, mother, sister, aunt, friend, veterinarian, and wanna be writer. I love nature and animals of all kinds, music, cooking, and spending time with my family.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine

  1. TrishaDM says:

    Ugh, I am so not a night owl! I am definitely a morning person, as are my parents. I grew up with a strict bed time and I complained as I got older, but now realize that I still need an early bed time. Interestingly, my husband is a night owl. We make each other a bit crazy at times, but it works well for getting a bit of alone time.

    • Gail says:

      My husband as a whole is an early bird. I guess opposites attract! He works as a nurse and does 12 hours shifts from 7 pm – 7am. So over the years, he’s become more of a night owl.

  2. Jessie says:

    Yup, mornings are just always fuzzy. 10 o’clock is always when the wake up switch flicks on. One morning just last week after I called my 6 year olds breakfast the wrong thing (pancakes instead of waffles?) she said, “Yeah, I know, you’re not very good in the morning.” Sad but true. Fortunately I’m awesome at night.. just ask me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

